We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
462
185
48
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
185
48
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course tennis courts terrace bar round of golf pro shop beautiful hotel beautiful grounds leisure centre wedding reception lovely setting cooley peninsula well worth a visit function room first class relaxing break set menu an evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stayed here at Easter and throughly enjoyed the hotel and facilities. The rooms are a good size and clean although there was 3 of us staying in the room and there was only 2 towels and cups but no big deal. We used the leisure facilities and had plenty of fun. Reception staff were very helpful and food was good. The only negative about our stay was the heat in our room. When we arrived the room was very warm and we had to open the window. We turned the radiator down but when we came back from the pool it was still burning hot so we turned it completely off. When we returned from dinner it was still roasting so we turned it off the other way thinking we had turned it the wrong way earlier. We went to bed with the window open as wide as it would go. I woke up at 3am with a bad headache and feeling sick as the heat was unbearable. I phoned reception with no answer and then the duty manager with no answer. I eventually feel asleep again but woke up with a dreadful headache and feeling like I had jet lag. I spoke to reception on check out and was give a reduction. Family next door to us had the same problem with the heat.

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Caroline

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and sharing your story with everyone. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities that the hotel had to offer you and your family.

In relation to the heating in the room, we will, of course, investigate this further for you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and glad you were given some compensation prior to departure.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Samantha McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ballymascanlon House Hotel Golf & Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding at the hotel in October 2016. The staff couldn’t do enough for us in terms of the attention to detail and support both in the run up to our wedding, and on the day itself. All our guests commented on how beautiful the hotel and food were. We recently returned to the Ballymascanlon to celebrate Mother’s Day and we were delighted that the management of the hotel remembered us from our wedding. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Norz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guest

On behalf of everybody here at Ballymascanlon House hotel, I would like to thank you for your very kind comments regarding your experience at Ballymascanlon House hotel.

I am truly delighted to read your comments regarding the build up to your wedding and on the day itself. It is an absolute honour to share one of the most important days of a couples life and hearing your kind words is the best gratification the hotel can receive.

Thank you again for your review and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Samantha McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ballymascanlon House Hotel Golf & Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here. Food was lovely however it is a military operation here so no extra time for photos, we were very pressurised to be seated for the designated time which is maybe a good thing. We had a huge hot Buffet in the evening with loads left over, we asked for it to be kept and brought to the residents bar afterwards. However this did not happen it had obviously been eaten or thrown away, would have been a substantial money's worth of food. Very disappointing, made a complaint but was barely acknowledged! The rooms are nice but the bridal suite is a bit dated.. breakfast average. Grounds are beautiful and perfect for photos. We didn't get any special treatment in the run up to the wedding, this place is not cheap but after booking there is no sampling food etc.. biggest bugbear was probably the seating which I had went to great efforts working out and left into the Ballymascanlon the day before, name cards and everything! However it was disregarded and the staff seemed to have just plonked the name cards and guests wherever they chose. Very bad and disappointing. Would not recommend booking for a wedding, overpriced for the service received. Needless to say we haven't been back.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Delia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Deila D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your Wedding Reception it is important for us to receive feedback from our guests be it positive or negative.
On this occasion, we are surprised to read your comments in regards to the menu tasting. All Bridal couples have the opportunity to sample the menu before their Wedding. This is clearly stated in all the brochures and managers encourage menu tastings prior to the Wedding Reception. With regards to the table plan and place names, again management work closely with the bridal couple and would go to great lengths to make sure that this is correct to ensure no confusion on the day.
If you wish to discuss the matter in more detail, please feel free to contact one of the managers at the hotel.

Kind regards

Samantha McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ballymascanlon House Hotel Golf & Leisure Club
Tel: +353 042 9358200
Email: salesandmarketing@ballymascanlon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We played the 18 hole course for a very reasonable price considering how good and well maintained the course is!!

Lunch afterwards was very tasty!! Highly recommend any golfers whether it be with friends or just a practice round the front 9

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank WorldTraveller2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for taking the time to send in your review. We are thrilled with your comments.

We will be delighted to share your feedback all the team here at the Ballymascanlon Hotel, they will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service provided and the facilities of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your lovely feedback We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Samantha McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ballymascanlon House Hotel Golf & Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We visit Ballymascanlon House Hotel for family occasions. We had lunch there just before Christmas on a particularly difficult day for the staff because there was a power failure. This emergency was handled with great efficiency and courtesy. We were kept informed at all times, and we had a lovely lunch after a very slight delay. We can recommend Ballymascanlon House Hotel without a single reservation. Thanks very much for the lovely welcome and food.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank benno66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha M, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest

On behalf of everybody here at Ballymascanlon House hotel, I would like to thank you for your very kind comments regarding your experience at Ballymascanlon House hotel.
We were delighted to read that even though there was a power failure this did not affect your Birthday celebrations and you felt that it was hand with great efficiency and courtesy.

Please extend our birthday wishes to your family.Thank you again for your review and I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Samantha McMahon
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ballymascanlon House Hotel Golf & Leisure Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews