We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
169
27
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
27
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones ring of kerry lake view her husband breakfast room perfect stay full irish breakfast skellig michael dark sky reserve monastic site ann's place extra driving r r local sights an absolute gem lovely location days fishing
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night in Ann's place! The welcome was very warming, she is really nice lady! Helped around our trip on the Ring of Kerry, with helpful advises, the Full Irish Breakfast was really more than what you wish for a breakfast! The bedroom is very comfy, with huge size of ensuite! Very happy, well recommended to everyone!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Szilárd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Arrived in Currane Lodge in the Friday in time for pre arranged dinner, actually pre ordered to guests choices and It was excellent. That night Taxi brought us into Waterville, about 4 kms and collected us again about 12.30. € 10.00 fare each journey which is great value for 4 passengers. Ann is a lovely host and an accomplished chef if the meals she serves are anything to go by. that little extra work in presentation of the meals puts her cooking on a different level from your usual B&B fare. All the food id either from the Sea, the Lake of their own sheep and farm stock. Great spot to base yourself for fishing with boats and guides about 200 yards from the front door. we stayed for 2 nights, 2 days fishing, 2 breakfasts, 2 evening meals, 2 fantastic packed lunches and boats hired as well. I don't want to say what the cost was as I assume it may vary but we got excellent value for money and we will make this an annual trip.

Room Tip: Attic rooms have good Velux window views
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FXRB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We were lucky enough to stay at Currane Lodge for 1 night, and were treated to freshly caught and prepared fish n chips for dinner (for a modest & fair fee). The hosts were present and available, but made an obvious effort to respect your privacy and give you whatever space you needed.

Our room was clean and ready upon arrival, and we were ushered in with a quick explanation on the keys, the facilities, and the food options.

The fish n chips were outstanding, and the breakfasts we pre-ordered were enough to feed any 5 grown men. Felt bad wasting so much food, but the owner was able to provide a small plastic container so we could snack on it during our long drive through Kerry that day.

Would definitely go out of my way to stay here again. Would make more time, as well, in order to take advantage of their offer to ride across the lake to explore the ruins of a Monastic settlement that you can see from your breakfast table.

Room Tip: Wifi is free, but limited. Do not expect to UL/DL pics & videos while staying, but you can get reception for calls and browsing websites.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGilmer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Our room was large and bright with beautiful views one cannot describe and they are a must see!
The host was friendly, accommodating and eager to share tips for local sights.
The breakfasts were very tasty and generously portioned. This included fresh home-baking with banana bread a highlight!
Difficult not to highly recommend this guesthouse in a spectacular area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sadhbh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

This place is an absolute gem. Ann is amazing! She is an excellent cook and she serves hefty portions. We was "having guests for dinner" both nights we stayed so we dined with her and it was outstanding. 3 course meals both nights. The place itself is located out of town with the most spectacular view of mountains and lake. It is a small lodge, as the name implies. We hoped to get onto Skellig Michael but had made no reservations. Ann knows the "skippers" (I love that she uses the word skippers :-) and managed to get us on a boat despite the trips to the Skellig being booked out through the season. She is a miracle worker. Our room was spacious and comfortable and we were able to relax and truly enjoy being here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristenKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews