We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Gem of a place. ”

La Cucina Di Angelo's
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 29
Cuisines: Irish, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We provide, high quality traditional freshly made Italian dishes, with fresh local ingredients at an affordable price. We are a casual dining experience with top class family customer service. Try us and you decide, we know you wont be disappointed!! We are an Italian family of two sister and one brother with the knowledge and secrets form our ancestors in Italian cuisine. We look forward to meeting you and serving you.
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Went here after reviewing the trip advisor comments and looking for a new Italian restaurant in town.

The whole meal was amazing. For a family who eat out fairly regularly this was up there with the best.

Lovely wine, lovely food great atmosphere.

We ate, ( Frito Misto I think )- it was the fried fish and mozzarella with the ragu sauce. Both were delicious.

For mains we had the Lamb cutlets, Chicken and mushroom tagliatelle- Homemade pasta to boot. Our young one had meatballs and spaghetti- I am assured that these were the best meatballs ever. My wife reckons even she would eat a bowl of it even though she doesn’t like meatballs.

Unfortunately no room for pudding but the coffee was excellent.

In summary, a Fabulous meal in a little gem of a restaurant - always great to know you are supporting a local family business as well!!!

Can’t wait to go back!!! See you soon!!

2  Thank ponchosvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodoscar, Owner at La Cucina Di Angelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Ponchosvillas, what a amazing review, we want to thank you form the bottom of our hearts for this. You were and absolute pleasure to have in with us and we can not wait to see you again. You made our day for sure.

Thanks again,

From Nina, Emma, Angelo and all at La Cucina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018

we have eaten here on more than one occasion and every time has been just as good if not better than the time before. The staff are very welcoming and are more than willing to make a recommendation if asked, the food is always well presented and delicious and honestly i would recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a quiet escape with quality food and and outstanding service. overall its a fantastic restaurant and i would urge you to try it for yourself. you wont be disappointed

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank doctordogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodoscar, Owner at La Cucina Di Angelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Doctor Dogg (love the name!),

Thank you so very much for your great review, it warms our hearts.

Please know that we appreciate you taking the time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nina, Emma, Angelo and all at La Cucina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

One of my favorite restaurants. The staff are always so welcoming and polite with excellent service. We had the nachos and ribs to start and two goes of meatballs. The food was super as always. I would have had desert but I didn’t have enough room to squeeze it all in. A lovely night out as great value for money. Thanks guys!

3  Thank ciachicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodoscar, Owner at La Cucina Di Angelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Ciachicken,

Thank you so much for this very kind review, we love it!
Its people like you that makes what we do so worth while.

Thanks again, look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Nina, Angelo, Emma and all at La Cucina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lively meal here. Friendly efficient staff. The best steak I ever had, husband said. Can't say better than that.

2  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodoscar, Manager at La Cucina Di Angelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Maureen,

Thanks so much for your great review, it means so much to us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon hopefully.

Best regards,
All at La Cucina Di Angelo's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

This was my second visit. The food was delicious, the staff were incredibly friendly. The restaurant is so authentic, from the decor to the family being actually being from Italy. I will definitely visit again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodoscar, Manager at La Cucina Di Angelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Rebecca,

Thanks so much for your kind review, it means a lot to us.

Hopefully we will see you again soon,

Best regards,
All at La Cucina Di Angelo's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cucina Di Angelo's also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to La Cucina Di Angelo's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing