We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 181
US$ 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 162
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 173
US$ 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$ 115
US$ 112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
US$ 60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
509
262
80
37
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
262
80
37
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsan evening mealhotel barrooms were spotlessvisiting athlonecouldn't do enoughgreat nightstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

recently stayed for a hen night in this hotel, was very impressed over all! Hotel was nice and clean and in a central location. rooms were clean and spacious (lovely showers). Had lunch in the bar and have to say it was lovely. The staff and management were extremely efficient and friendly, aiding us in whatever we required-taxis, extra items at dinner and even a toothbrush late at night! Now that's service! Will definitely be back and recommending to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeathMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & Athlone soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Organising my sisters hen and the hotel was 100%, staff were very helpful and hotel was very clean. Def recommend it for hen parties :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was organising a hen night of 33 people and booked in directly with the hotel. Michelle, Vicki and the rest of the staff were extremely accommodating throughout the preparation. The hotel specialise in hen and stag parties at the weekend, and you can choose from a range of options depending on what kind of a group you are. We booked a package including a cruise on the Shannon, a cocktail making class and dinner plus we had a reserved area in the bar of the hotel, free entry into the niteclub which is right next door! Trying to organise a group of 33 is not easy but the staff were extremely helpful and made any changes I needed. On arrival check in was an easy going process, with some of the rooms not ready, staff gladly took our bags to free us up to enjoy the town and the amazing weather. One of the only downsides was the lack of twin bedrooms available for the weekend we had booked but the hotel tried their best to change things around to suit the group. All the rooms were clean and a good size and the showers were nice and powerful. The cocktail making class, which is done by staff from the hotel, was great fun and set us up for the night! The hotel also offer the choice of decorating the hen's room and make the dinner menu personal to the group which is a lovely touch. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and the attitude of staff was friendly.

We had an amazing weekend and would highly recommend the hotel for a similar event again. The staff were excellent, well prepared and very friendly. Everything went perfect and the worry of organising is gone because the hotel sort everything out. Thanks for a fantastic weekend! Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stopped off in athlone in order to have an evening meal in the bar. As I had visited this Hotel many years ago i decided to revisit . I have to say I was so disappointed . On first looks the exterior, with its cheap looking plastic/canvas looking ad gives a bad vibe. The interior is anything but welcoming and is so badly in need of a major face lift and upgrading . The food provided was of poor quality and was not appetizing.would not recommend and definitely would not return .( cant comment on the bedrooms as did not stay here ) Finally Just to be fair could not fault the pleasant Barmaid/waitress Laura .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank BREIFNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

I was very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your experience in the prince bar. We have had private discussions on the same so I do not need to go into detail here, but I might add that as of 16/6/12 we have been accepted and endorsed by "A Taste of Ireland" which is run by the renounded Paolo Tullio. I would hope that your experience was an isolated incident.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We booked directly with the hotel for my sisters hen night and they provided us with a great deal-Michelle was very helpful and accommodating -When we arrived we were met by Vicky who was very helpful and friendly-the rooms were what one would expect -could not find any faults and they had left a lovely gift of a bottle of prosecco for the hen-dinner and breakfast were always piping hot and we had a great choice-we booked the cocktail classes which were fab and the bar staff are lovely-we also booked the night club however did not go on the Saturday night as we did not enjoy it on the Friday night-As the hotel is so ideally located my advice would be not to include the night club in your package-the bar in the hotel had a great dj so we stayed there before venturing down the town-All in All a great weekend-but it also must be said how fab the staff in the hotel were-I did not meet the household staff but one sister did and said they were so helpful therefore it is also important to recognise those who work hard behind the scenes also.

Room Tip: We were out most of the night therefore noise did not bother us however our mam went to bed early and as she was located over the nightclub she found it difficult to sleep-so for those of you who are going to relax perhaps mention that you do not wish to be near the night club-however for those going partying it adds to the athmosphere
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonzo79-May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews