We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hen Party/Girly night away hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Hen Party/Girly night away hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We recently stayed in the Prince of Wales for a Hen night. It is everything you could ask for for this kind of a night away. The bedrooms are modern and clean and the hotel staff were very friendly. Its right in the centre of Athlone town and we were lucky enough to get a fabulous day and its a 5 minute stroll down to the Shannon. The nightclub being in the hotel was handy too! Breakfast the next morning was lovely and they serve til 12! Overall a great night away!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review.

We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. We try our upmost to please all our guests from hen parties to couples away for a break.

I have passed your positive comments onto the staff.

Hopefully we will see you again.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    230
    74
    30
    32
See reviews for
95
304
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

recently stayed for a hen night in this hotel, was very impressed over all! Hotel was nice and clean and in a central location. rooms were clean and spacious (lovely showers). Had lunch in the bar and have to say it was lovely. The staff and management were extremely efficient and friendly, aiding us in whatever we required-taxis, extra items at dinner and even a toothbrush late at night! Now that's service! Will definitely be back and recommending to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeathMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & Athlone soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Organising my sisters hen and the hotel was 100%, staff were very helpful and hotel was very clean. Def recommend it for hen parties :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was organising a hen night of 33 people and booked in directly with the hotel. Michelle, Vicki and the rest of the staff were extremely accommodating throughout the preparation. The hotel specialise in hen and stag parties at the weekend, and you can choose from a range of options depending on what kind of a group you are. We booked a package including a cruise on the Shannon, a cocktail making class and dinner plus we had a reserved area in the bar of the hotel, free entry into the niteclub which is right next door! Trying to organise a group of 33 is not easy but the staff were extremely helpful and made any changes I needed. On arrival check in was an easy going process, with some of the rooms not ready, staff gladly took our bags to free us up to enjoy the town and the amazing weather. One of the only downsides was the lack of twin bedrooms available for the weekend we had booked but the hotel tried their best to change things around to suit the group. All the rooms were clean and a good size and the showers were nice and powerful. The cocktail making class, which is done by staff from the hotel, was great fun and set us up for the night! The hotel also offer the choice of decorating the hen's room and make the dinner menu personal to the group which is a lovely touch. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and the attitude of staff was friendly.

We had an amazing weekend and would highly recommend the hotel for a similar event again. The staff were excellent, well prepared and very friendly. Everything went perfect and the worry of organising is gone because the hotel sort everything out. Thanks for a fantastic weekend! Would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stopped off in athlone in order to have an evening meal in the bar. As I had visited this Hotel many years ago i decided to revisit . I have to say I was so disappointed . On first looks the exterior, with its cheap looking plastic/canvas looking ad gives a bad vibe. The interior is anything but welcoming and is so badly in need of a major face lift and upgrading . The food provided was of poor quality and was not appetizing.would not recommend and definitely would not return .( cant comment on the bedrooms as did not stay here ) Finally Just to be fair could not fault the pleasant Barmaid/waitress Laura .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BREIFNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

I was very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your experience in the prince bar. We have had private discussions on the same so I do not need to go into detail here, but I might add that as of 16/6/12 we have been accepted and endorsed by "A Taste of Ireland" which is run by the renounded Paolo Tullio. I would hope that your experience was an isolated incident.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,849 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.8 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,022 reviews
3.4 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
905 reviews
6.4 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,116 - ₹ 11,843
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing