We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last room in the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shannonside House B&B
Ranked #1 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last room in the Inn”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We showed up late after being unable to get a family room 8 other places. It was saturday during a bank holiday weekend but Linda just had a cancelation so we sqeezed in. Our kids were treated very well and had good time playing with Jett their loyal family dog. Short walk into Athlone. Best of both worlds, active nightlife separated from your quiet comfortable bed. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    36
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
67
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Many thanks to Mark and Linda for the pleasant stay at their home. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. The bed was so comfy I couldn't keep my eyes open once I got in and had a fantastic night's sleep. There's onsite parking and a delicious and ample breakfast. The best thing is the friendliness of the hosts. We felt very welcome. Would definitely recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed here with my aunt while we made a trip to Athlone for the Clonmacnoise Festival Youth 2000. We arrived at the B&B and was showed to our room which was beautiful the house had a wonderful atmosphere. The room was very clean and was very comfortable. I must say that Linda and Mark were so pleasant. The breakfast the following morning was great with so much on offer. I would highly recommend this B&B. Thanks a million for everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49Brenda49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have stayed at Shannonside House every year for the last 15 years or so. Mark and Linda are the perfect hosts, friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very clean,comfortable and well equipped. The full Irish breakfast is highly recommended along with the Continental options! Only a short walk to the town centre, yet in a very quiet neighbourhood. If youre in Athlone, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nantes
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We are 2 couples of french friends.
We were in Shannonside house on august 16 and we were very enjoyed by Linda and Mark : very kind people and very plaisant B & B in a quiet place near shannon river, near Athlon centre and overall near "Seans bar" - such a traditional irish pub !
Thanks to Linda and Mark for their kindness and the quality of their welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,888 reviews
0.1 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
0.9 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.0 km away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
260 reviews
2.6 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannonside House B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannonside House B&B

Property: Shannonside House B&B
Address: Westlodge Road | Battery Road, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,966 - ₹ 7,997
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannonside House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast in Athlone which is in the centre of Ireland. Explore the local lake and countryside from here or just break your journey to and from Dublin Airport. 90 minutes from airport and enjoy your first or last night of you vacation without the hassle of city parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shannonside House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing