We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
71
54
15
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
54
15
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roomkitchen areakind staffsuper niceshort noticestay there againlocal pubcounty clarefacilitiestvburrenmohercliffscereal
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Great good value hostel. 2 adults 2 kids in a 6 bunk, very spacious room, with large large bathroom. Easy breakfast. Lovely central location in town. Super helpful and friendly reception. Clean, plenty of parking. Cannot say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelswithkiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, General Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thank you very much for your great review and please tell your friends!!
In the current economic clime, it is great to have a really good value service & as a mum of 4, I believe hostelling is the way forward for families - you can't beat it!! It allows you to have money to spend on the many fun activities for familes in the area eg: Cliffs of Moher, The Burren & The Caves.
Lots of room for the kids stuff in the bedrooms and also lots of room for them to run around safely, while the parents can relax in one of the many cosy public rooms.
Many thanks & please come back soon.
Aoibhinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

This former starhotel, just 5 minutes walk from the center of Lisdoonvarna, is a great location to explore "The Burren". You can reach all the "importend" places in this beautifull area inbetween 1 hour and also the village is worth to take a closer look. Try the beer and food at the pub down the road!!! Its a must!
The hostel itself is a little way back the road with a big lawn and garden in the front and private parking on the side.
The rooms (couple/family/dorm) are simply but appropriate furnished and all big enough with ensuited bathroom. The floors to the rooms are seperated and a bit off the "public area" what makes it mostly quiet. And there is a lot of space, so that I never had the feeling, that the hostel was booked out. A big entrance area (also information center, meeting point, reception...), a well equiped self-catering kitchen,the friendly familiar dining room and a few different comfortable living rooms with fireplace, tv, billard and "bar" (sorry, but you really need a better wine selection) and all with nice antique furniture.
The mangement and the staff is friendly and there is always somebody around to give help or information.
Cleanliness - from my side... nothing to complain.
For quality/price including a simple breakfast, coffee and tea all the time, free towels and a lot of comfort its an excellent place to stay for a couple of days and I definitely will go there again.

And always remember... Its a hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klaus_aus_Luebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, General Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Vielen Dank Klaus for your superb review of The Burren Hostel (Sleepzone).
Our location is great because we are right in between the Cliffs of Moher & the protected natural landscape of the stunning Burren.
The Roadside Tavern opposite us is well known for it's micro brewery, music and fish.
It was great to have the kids playing football on our lawn in the summer or just to sit out there with a nice glass of wine or beer or cupan tae!!
Our rooms are bigger than most hostels.
We are so lucky that our public areas are separated from the bedrooms which makes for a quiet and peaceful sleep.
As you know, we just have a basic bar licence for wine & cider - with The Roadside Taven opposite, we don't really need to go into extensive menus.
You were a real pleasure to have staying here - thank you for the gift!!
Hope to see you again Klaus - keep in touch!!
Aoibhinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the folk fest, there were four of us and we got a room for six and had it all to ourselves which was great and it had an ensuite. The shower is terrible in it but it did the job for two nights. The girl on reception was lovely and helpful and we all paid by card as there are no ATMs nearby. She organised a taxi for us and we used the same guy and his wife the whole stay. Only problem is you only get one set of keys! More keys needed as some wanted to go home early etc

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rachchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After cycling from Kinvara to Lisdoonvarna, we were greeted with some lovely staff members who showed us our room. There was only 3 of us, but we had a 6 bed room to ourselves which was lovely, spacious and bright. The only downside, the bathroom. It was VERY small and the shower pressure and temperature wasn't great.
However, we ate lovely food and had a couple of pints in the recommended Roadside Tavern! A lovely little pub, full of tourists and serves food (although we didn't eat any of it, it looked tasty!) A great night with nice traditional music!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Darren
Thank you for your positive review. That was a superb cycle - sorry about the temperature of the showers - sometimes if a lot of guests are showering at the same time, this may happen - sincere apologies. I was unaware of the pressure being weak. Sorry.
Yes the pub is great and so close - no driving or cycling required!!!
Thanks and hope to see you again sometime.
Aoibhinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hostel is definitely above the normal standard of a YHA. We had a double room with lots of space, a big double bed and a private, comfortable bathroom. The facilities were clean and also beautifully and well equipped. A nice feature was the TV-/sitting-room with a fireplace and comfortable furniture.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was continental but good. The coffee tastet as well as the orange juice (a real one, no sirup or stuff like that).
All in all really recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Vielen Dank for this superb review!! I have passed your lovely comments onto our team here. Yes - I agree with you the rooms are definitely more spacious. Some of the furniture is inherited from the hotel times here so it is good quality and .extremely comfortable.
I only buy real orange juice.
Thank you and maybe see you again some day soon again.
Warmest Regards
Aoibhinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews