We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic few days exploring the west”
Review of Royal Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days exploring the west”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I was brought here as a surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Lisdoonvarna. The hotel staff are very nice, we had dinner in the hotel 1 of the nights and the portions will not leave you wanting!
Our room was just at the top of the stairs, only problem was the creaky step that made me jump whenever someone walked on it, the walls are quiet thin and the stairs may be creaky but thats due to the age of the building.
It was a great experience. It rained for most of our stay but on the last night the other half went down to the chinese and we watched something on rte 2 while having a takeaway and listening to the rain....the simple little things in life make the best memories. I would definately come back to this hotel if we were going that direction again.

Room Tip: The car park at the back of the hotel is very useful and also if you want to know something just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val-BAYR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a brilliant holiday in Co Clare last Summer, hotel was lovely, clean friendly and a healthy breakfast - pub around the corner was brilliant, music every night and great atmosphere I thought had long since gone but will be back to this great part of Ireland - nearby is Lahinch the surfers paradise and a must is the Inis Meáin, the day we went out to the island the sea was heaving and we doubted we would be able to leave the harbour but amazingly we made it - visit An Dun - just a short walk from the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valdign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were a group of 5 that stayed at the hotel and we had a twin and a triple room book for our group. The hotel is very central as it's located on the main street of Lisdoonvarna opposibe the matchmaker pub. The rooms were a nice big size and the bed nice and comfortable. The ensuite was spotless in our room. they supply a nice breasfast in the mornings and the staff are helpful when looking for directions to local attractions (Everywhere is within about 30 mins approx drive from Lisdoonvarna -ie. the Cliffs of Moher, Lehinch and the Ailwee Caves . The name maybe is a bit deceptive as there is no Spa at the hotel and the Spa in the town is now closed. Overall very pleasant stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easy_livingDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Good value accommodation in central location. Free parking. Breakfast included. Staff very helpful

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MicheleIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed here with my husband for one night in a double room. The room was quite small as was the bathroom but it was clean. There was some parking available at the back of the hotel but also a large public car park a few metres away. There was a large group of people (i think it may have been a bus tour) staying at the same time who were rather noisy. We found this was the biggest problem as the walls are quite thin. We could hear our neighbour snoring most of the night. There was no live music on the night we stayed however we were happy with this as our room would have been right above where the music would have been played. Breakfast however was lovely and the location of the hotel is great. There is not much in lisdoonvarna other than a couple of bars, a takeaway and a couple of convenience stores. We enjoyed our stay albeit a little noisy for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 km away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
152 reviews
0.1 km away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
306 reviews
0.2 km away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.1 km away
Aran View Country House
9.8 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Spa Hotel

Property: Royal Spa Hotel
Address: The Royal Spa Hotel Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,317 - ₹ 6,897
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Spa Hotel is located in the centre of the Clare town of Lisdoonvarna, just 64 killometres from Shannon airport. Conveniently situated within walking distance of shops, the Church, pharmacy, pubs and the local amenity park, the Royal Spa Hotel offers visitors a calm, relaxing haven where you can unwind from your adventures and plan new explorations. Clean, comfortable, family friendly accommodation and delicious home cooked meals are what is expected and delivered at the Royal Spa Hotel.Our Cafe is open daily 10-8pm serving delicious home cooked meals, Homemade Pizza's and our famous Seafood Chowdar.All our cakes and brown soda bread are made fresh daily on the premises.An ideal location to satisfy your appetite while visiting the many local attractions in the area, Cliffs of Moher, Doolin & Aillwee Caves, Burren National Park which are all within easy driving distance, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing