We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the very definition of relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kitty's Cottage

Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
Garden Studio Poppies in Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Garden
Garden Studio
Poppies in Garden
Flower Border in Garden
Owenriff River Oughterard
Connemara Mountains
Connemara Lake
Connemara
Connemara Lake
Oughterard Church
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oughterard, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
sheepy196...
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the very definition of relaxation”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A real home from home, decor and facilities were excellent and Kathleen couldn't be any more helpful. House is only 1 min drive to the village which has 5 pubs within a stones throw and a couple of well stocked shops. If you want the city then Galway is only about 25 mins drive.
Couldn't recommend Kathleen and kitty's cottage highly enough. Well worth 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and an excellent house
Liked least: The roadworks on the way to Galway
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronikVH
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you're thinking of visiting Connemara - and you should! - this is the cottage you definitely want to stay in. Very charming, spacious, cosy, well equipped and situated in the cute little town of Oughterard. 3 bedrooms, all with their own bathroom and toilet.We arrived on a rainy saturday but after a warm welcome by Kathleen and some delicious home made scones, the weather didn't really bother us at all.
Oughterard is very well situated if you want to see the Connemara area.
We were here for a week and visited Cong and Ashford castle, walked the beautiful white beaches of Mweenish and Dog's Bay. We crossed the beach of Omey Island (check the tides before you go and make sure to be there at low tide). Take the Sky Road in Clifden to get to Omey, it has some really stunning views.
We climbed Lachavrea mountain (make to sure to bring some spare boots, it was pretty muddy), saw Kylemore Abbey. Connemara is by far the most beautiful part of Ireland (We were in Cork, Kerry, Clare, Galway and parts of Limerick), it reminded us of West-Canada at times. Lakes everywhere!
This was a great holiday, both Kitty's cottage and the environment made it unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of this house
Liked least: The showers were not always very hot.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronicaH...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with character”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family of 4 adults and 1 child stayed at Kitty's Cottage for two weeks in June. It was a perfect place for our holiday. Kathleen, the owner, was very friendly and accommodating; and she also allowed two additional family members to stay at her B&B next door, which was ideal for our family reunion. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful gardens, so lush and green and full of gorgeous flowers. The house itself is well equipped and we were very comfortable there, both in terms of space and furnishings.. [ If I could suggest one thing, it would be that there should be a couple of shelves added to the downstairs bathroom because the only surface for toiletry storage was the small windowsill.]
Our family enjoyed the location of the cottage, which was only a few minutes walk to the lively village of Oughterard. Our favourite places to eat there included: Powers Pub, Breathnach's Bar, Greenway Cafe, Camp Street Cafe, and the Connemara Lake Hotel. We were amazed that there were so many excellent places to eat in such a small village. I recommend them all.
Also, we had a wonderful trekking experience with the Knockkillaree Riding Centre. Roger, the owner, took us for a 90 minute ride through the hills, which was great fun and we all enjoyed it so much.
Overall, we loved our stay in Oughterard. It is charming and friendly, and we would love to return one day. Now that we are home, thoughts of it constantly pop into our minds and, for me, it's almost like being homesick! We all have very happy memories of both Kitty's Cottage and the village!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and grounds
Liked least: The WiFi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horsellda...
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful place to stay in Oughterard”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a very peaceful spot. Very comfortable and the perfect base from which to explore Galway and the stunning region of Connemara.

Kathleen was very friendly, helpful and discreet and looked after us all very well indeed, even making us some delicious soda bread.

The only slight issue was the lack of storage space for food in the Kitchen. However, that is a very minor criticism of what is a great cottage.

Thank you so much. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing