We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loughrea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craig Country House
Ranked #1 of 7 Loughrea B&B and Inns
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Traveling with a group of friends from upstate New York our guide chose the the Craig County House for us to stay in for two nights. How lucky were we! From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome. Mairead and Tom were wonderful hosts and we were lucky enough to meet a lot of their extended family as well, hi Joan and Katie. From the BEST scones in Ireland. to an experience of a lifetime visiting the Hounds, and then on to an amazing night of conversation and song with their friends, it was a stay that we will remember for a lifetime. If your travels bring you anywhere near the Craughwell, this is the only place you want to stay.

Room Tip: Both the rooms we had were equally wonderful. They were roomy and had a great shower. What a peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Very well furnished, very clean and tidy. Hosts Tom and Miried lovely. Was greeted with freshly cooked delicious homemade scones baked by Miried and in the morning Tom made me an equally delicious full irish breakfast. Bed very comfortable, all furnishings good quality. Good shower. Great nights sleep very quiet.

Room Tip: close to morans oyster cottage the weir kilcolgan
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellbrook, OH
Level Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My husband and I and some friends stayed 8 nights at Craig Country House (CCH) on a recent fox hunting trip to Ireland. I booked CCH for our group after reading guest reviews and am delighted to report that our stay couldn’t have been better.

Mairead and her husband Tom, owners of CCH, are wonderfully warm and friendly, which makes them perfects hosts for a stay in the Irish countryside. They also know a lot about the area and have good advice about what to see and where to eat.

We arrived about 10 AM and were happily greeted in the driveway by 4 adorable Jack Russell Terriers. Next we were warmly welcomed inside by Kitty, Mairead’s mother, and Angela, Tom’s aunt and invited to the kitchen for tea, toast and Irish Brown bread. This warm welcome was a great start to our Irish hunting holiday.

We loved the home and beautiful country setting! It is just a few years old but is very warm and welcoming, with tasteful decoration and spacious rooms. Looking out our bedroom window we could see horses grazing and the morning sunrise. The roomy bedroom, en suite bathroom (lots of hot water) and comfy bed were perfect for resting our weary bones at the end of every busy day.

Every morning Tom or Mairead produced a generous, sumptuous breakfast which kept us going until dinner time. You won't leave hungry! There was something for everyone; juice, coffee, milk, tea, yogurt, fresh cut fruit, cereals homemade breads (Irish Brown Bread, Scones, Croissants) Toast, Oatmeal, pancakes, Eggs, sausages, and rasher bacon. That bacon was so delicious – nothing like we can get in the US. We also had 3 dinners at Craig House and all the food was delicious. I came home a few pounds heavier…a testament to all of the good food at Craig House.

From Craig House, one can visit the Cliffs of Moher, Galway City, the Burren, Athenrye, Bunratty, Connemara, Ashford Castle, Kylemore Abbey, Roscommon, and MUCH, MUCH more. It's an easy one hour drive to/from Shannon. It was wonderful to stay in one place and not pack/unpack daily plus we truly looked forward to coming home each night and having a few words with Tom, Mairead, Kitty and Angela about the days activities. Most of the time we spent fox hunting and we had a lot of stories to share with the family. Tom is a huntsman and we were able to ride with him for two hunts. We would have loved to have been able to ride with him more but we had plans to also visit other hunts in the area.

The closet village, Craughwell, has 3 pubs where you can unwind with drinks and dinner and is a quick couple of miles from CCH.

If you are planning a trip to Ireland, we highly recommend Craig House. You’ll arrive as strangers and leave as friends!

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We had a great visit with our hostess Mairead. The building is only four years old and it is beautiful - most definately the best B&B facility that we have stayed in. Mairead made us feel at home, recommended a lovely restaurant, served us a beautiful breakfast. the location is great for those transitting into Dublin from Kerry or Dingle as we were, or visa versa. Right by the main highway between Galway and Dubin. Truly a wonderful stay and would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

You will be so spoiled that you will wish all other B & B's and lodging are like Mairead's. We and all of our referrals have never been disappointed, be it at Mairead's former B & B in Bunratty or her new and beutiful home in Craghwell. It is truly a family atmosphere where one can relax and regroup from travelling around the countryside and nearby towns like Galway. My favorite recollection, years ago we're at Shannon preparing to depart, in the midst of U.S. Customs, when I swore I heard a woman calling "Noreen". Well, it turns out my wife left her Rosary Beads under her pillow, Mairead found them and ran them over to us at the Airport! That is a special person.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conley1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughrea hotels
25.5 km away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
809 reviews
28.7 km away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
193 reviews
22.2 km away
Lotties Villa
Lotties Villa
#5 of 7 in Loughrea
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Cartron House Farm
Cartron House Farm
#3 of 7 in Loughrea
38 reviews
19.7 km away
The Three Towers Eco House & Organic Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Country House

Property: Craig Country House
Address: Garacloone | Craughwell, Loughrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Loughrea
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Craig Country House Loughrea, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing