We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“And the Oscar goes to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Teach Carraig

The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside
The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
The upstairs bathroom has a sumptuous roll top bath.
The upstairs bedroom has a king size sleigh bed.
The kitchen diner is spacious and well equipped.
Woodstock Gardens Inistioge (5 miles away)
Kilfane Glen & Gardens (5 miles away)
Hurling - fast & passionate game Kilkenny is renowned for
Water activities for all the family
Dunbrody Famine Ship, New Ross
Hook Lighthouse, Wexford
Jerpoint Park, Thomastown (5 miles away)
The view from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thomastown, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Carolin K
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“And the Oscar goes to...”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Teach Carraig!
The house is fantastic. It's surrounded by nature and really quiet and idyllic. The equipment leaves nothing to be desired. Wi-console, Television, Wifi, family-games and books are something for everyone. The interior is very nicely designed and very clean. We cooked every evening in the super equipped kitchen. Shops can be reached in 15 minutes by car.

The friendly owners Carol and Neil are living next door and are always helpful. Your dog Mojo greeted us warmly every day and watched the house.

The cities Thomastown, Kilkenny and Waterford are in the immediate vicinity and are easily reached by car. Trips to the Castle of Kilkenny and an evening pub-tour are indispensable. Day trips to the 'Ring of Kerry' and a visit to the island Inismore with breathtaking cliffs are recommended and can be reached by car in 3 hours. The Jameson Distellery leadership in Cork is one of the worthwhile excursions.

We felt very comfortable and give 10 stars for the great accommodation. Thank you and we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arnbre
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing hosts”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I'd give more than 5 stars if I could! Arriving from Australia to live in Ireland, we stayed here for our first month, and could not have picked a better place. The cottage was flawless and great value. But more importantly, the hosts, Carol and Neil, were amazing! They treated us like family, doing what they could to help us through the transition, ie deal with authorities, run errands, look after the kids. Thank you:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts/owners
Liked least: The location is stunning, but you will need a car
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael K
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay :) ”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned today from a stay at Teach Carraig. Myself and my fiancé really enjoyed our time here. The cottage is very homely and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed exploring Kilkenny city centre just 25mins drive away and Dunmore caves in Dunbrody. The famine ship in New Ross is also worth a visit. Carol is a most welcoming host and we would definately recommend this holiday home :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALESSANDR...
Province of Livorno, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very confortable cottage, here you can find all you need about a nice stay
The owners are excellnt hosts
A very quiet place where you can relax really
Yes, you can book !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOOTSCarr...
CARRICKFERGUS N IRELAND
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Me my wife and two girls stayed here for just under a week and throughly enjoyed our stay , upon arrival we found the cottage absolutely spotless and provide everything you needed plus more , Carol the owner was always on hand if you needed anything and was extremely friendly and of course there was Mojo who is the owners dog and was fantastic friendly and kept the little one entertained.

Will without doubt try too stay here again and can honestly say we were gutted to leave .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing