We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Irish B&B”
Review of Rathmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rathmore House
Ranked #4 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Palm Beach
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect Irish B&B”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

When Marguerite greeted us by name upon arrival, we knew we were in the right place - in more ways than one. Within minutes, we were tucking into a late-afternoon cuppa tea with homemade scones and jam. Talk about feeling the "cead mile failte"... very cozy room with panoramic views. Wonderfully comfortable bed, compact bathroom but with a great shower. Ultimate, perfectly cooked full breakfast, beginning with half-grapefruit, great brown bread. Location is about a mile out before you reach the village - very walkable during bright summer evenings, but not after dark. For dinner, Marguerite's recommendation of Casey's was terrific - but also surprising, as its an accommodation competitor of hers. That's the Irish for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    33
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Margurite was very warm and welcoming after a long drive that was later than planned. She had a fire in the common room that was nice and warm, we skipped the offered tea/coffee and scones Since we were ready for dinner at the late hour. Margurite recommended Sibin Pub down the road. One of the best meals we have had!
My only negative for the place was the bed was really hard. Otherwise the house is lovely, food & hospitality were great. Would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedezkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A lovely warm welcome from Marguerite O'Driscoll with a roaring fire, tea and home made scones. We had a room with a fantastic view of Baltimore Harbour - good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emacdwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a lovely two days. Mrs. O'Driscoll gave us a wonderful breakfast, and she offered extra services without our requesting them, and then she refused any payment for them. Our room had a lovely view of the harbour. The B&B is suitable for families as well as couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz1DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We were visitng Cork with our small dog in West Cork and needed to find pet friendly accomodation. There was no problem here which was great and we were made to feel very welcome. The room had a lovely view over Baltimore, you would need a car to get into Baltimore for the evening. Excellent breakfast too. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinderella74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
0.0 km away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
0.0 km away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
626 reviews
0.0 km away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
382 reviews
0.0 km away
Channel View B&B
Channel View B&B
#3 of 12 in Baltimore
116 reviews
0.0 km away
The Stone House B&B
The Stone House B&B
#2 of 12 in Baltimore
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathmore House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmore House

Property: Rathmore House
Address: Baltimore, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,879 - ₹ 10,476
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmore House sits on the outskirts of Baltimore with panoramic views over the harbor and islands. An ideal base for enjoying the delights of Baltimore, or taking a boat trip to nearby islands of Sherkin or Cape Clear, it’s also an ideal base for touring West Cork and Kerry. Hostess Marguerite O' Driscoll is noted for her warm Irish hospitality, she has a unique gift of making you feel at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rathmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing