We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at The Waterfront Guesthouse, Baltimore, Ireland”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at The Waterfront Guesthouse, Baltimore, Ireland”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We arrived at Cork Airport late Sunday evening in late October. It had been a turbulent flight and once having picked up our car we drove into the night and horizontal rain. About 90 minutes later we arrived in at The Waterfront Guesthouse, Baltimore. I had not finished stepping out of the car when I was met by John with the words: ' Ah, you must be Mark" We were shown to our stunning room overlooking the harbour and Sherkin Island. Awaiting us in the room was a very kind and generous thought. After a very deep and peaceful sleep on a truly MASSIVE bed we awoke refreshed and partook of a fabulous breakfast. By this time Kate and Youen [the owners] had introduced themselves and we were set up and feeling really at home. The next 5 1/2 days were very sunny; we walked, talked, rested, supped a few pints of the black stuff and felt oh so much at home. The staff are attentive without being intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble, they are genuinely interested in you, stop to talk to you and look you in the eye. We made visits to Sherkin Island, walked near Loch Hyne [go on, climb that hill........it is worth it!!!] the Beacon, did a boat trip to see whales, dolphins and grey seals, Mizzen Head, Crookhaven [go to O' Sullivans for crab sandwich, seriously good!!!] The people of Baltimore were great, always saying Hello, the pubs were good old fashioned non plastic drinking dens. There is a wide selection of food at all pubs and was very hearty, tasty and on occasions very very good indeed. Oh yes, the bathrooms are really well furnished with a fantastic shower, huge in size, huge in its spray, huge in its fun. Can't sy muchmore really except we are definitely going back next year......

Mark and Teresa Adams

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms...worth it........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markjadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    33
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
66
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful few days at the Waterfront in Baltimore. Upon checking in, we were shown to a lovely room with an incredible view overlooking Baltimore harbour. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming or more helpful, telling us how to make the most of Baltimore in the rain, and pointing us in the direction of the amazing Sherkin Island as soon as it cleared up. The food was lovely, the Guinness great. Couldn't recommend it enough.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Thank you to all at The Waterfront for a great weekend!! How beautiful to see the sunset on a gorgeous Autumn day and the sunrise overlooking Sherkin Island from our room. Instantly relaxing, great service and dog friendly too! Will be back down in Spring for more. Good for the soul........Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Waterfront for two days in August just after the famous Fastnet race and all the excitement of the capsizing of one of the super yachts. The waterfront bar was great fun and of course the food up stairs in the restaurant was superb, loved the fish dishes , fish being a favorite of mine. . Our room had a great view over the harbor and we found it was cleaned unobtrusively every day and the toiletries replaced or replenished. It is a lively place and we even met up with one of the lifeboat crew involved in the now famous rescue Yes we did find that the fun in the bar went on a bit at night, but that is part of the charm of the place, it seemed to be at the very center of village life. If you want to be on your own and have early nights this place is not for you, well not in the summer anyway. The Waterfront appeared to be owned and run by one family and we kept bumping into them in all capacities ( behind reception, behind the bar etc ) this made for a homely and familiar feel, even if they were a little overwhelmed at times such is the popularity of the place. We love our 4 and five star hotels, and its hard to class the waterfront as a B&B because of the restaurant and the fact that it has its own bar as well, but nevertheless as B&B's go this place gets top marks from us.

Room Tip: As for one with view of harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shankill, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We can't complain in any way about the Waterfront B&B accommodation in Baltimore. We loved the location, the friendliness of the staff, the bar area, the restaurant and the bedrooms. OK, the price was a little on the steep side but the accommodation we opted for was deluxe, with a very large bedroom, window facing towards the harbour, flat screen digital tv and a large walk in shower and toilet area. More like hotel accommodation than B&B really ! The first thing we noticed about the place was the relaxed atmosphere. The reception area was frequently unattended, and you had to make enquiries in the bar. That was fine by us. The staff are hard working and are friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant on our Saturday night and we both enjoying it, especially as we were seated at the window with the stunning harbour to look out at. We also loved the breakfast service. The full Irish breakfast was delicious, as was the cereal, fruit, pastries and yogurts on offer. The bar was very nice indeed and the service was exceptional. We are glad that we stayed here off season as I reckon the whole place would be packed during the summer months. Not a bad thing per se, but we love our peace and quiet. We'll be back here before the end of the year if the weather permits it. I really is an enchanting town and location to visit. A ferry ride to Cape Clear is also strongly recommended. I saw exotic birds, seals and even a porpoise on the ferry trip out !

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe suite from room 11 to 14. It is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
0.8 km away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
10.4 km away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
472 reviews
22.7 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
398 reviews
37.6 km away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
26.9 km away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: The Square, Baltimore | Co. Cork, Baltimore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,012 - ₹ 11,189
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront, Baltimore, is a relaxed family run establishment comprising of rooms, 2 restaurants (one is open all year the other is seasonal) and a bar.We are located right in the centre of the village of Baltimore overlooking Baltimore Bay and the Islands. We have a selection of Standard and Superior rooms available, most with Sea View.All our rooms are bright and spacious. It is owned by the Jacob family who look forward to welcoming you during your trip to the beautiful Baltimore village in the South West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing