We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Cobh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Cobh”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Bella Vista this last bank holiday weekend for just one night Sun/Mon. We had been to Cobh back in 2006 - that year we stayed at the Water's Edge and had a great time in both the hotel and Cobh. We were a bit apprehensive as it was a last minute booking on a bank holiday Saturday. Spoke with Katherine, the manager, on the phone who was extremely nice and helpful. I just knew immediately we would be well looked after. She even said we could have have a self catering room with a balcony view of the harbour - a free of charge upgrade. And we were not disappointed. The hotel is a lovely family run affair; the owner and staff cannot do enough for you. And the hotel lives up to its name - Beautiful View.
The hotel is just a five minute short walk to the heart of Cobh. You can even take two different routes - to the right as you walk out of the hotel takes you by a terrace with eight Victorian houses to your left; one of which was owned by the White Star Line (Titanic). Take the left on exiting the hotel and you can pass the famous "deck of cards" multi-coloured houses as you walk down the steep hill.
Cobh is all abuzz with the Titanic 100 year commemoration in April. The hotel room was lovely; the bedroom area was a bit dated but fine. Bathroom was modern and excellent and the sitting room area with kitchen was also modern and excellent. The only thing that did not work was the TV. The book claimed multi-channels but we could only get three of four local ones. Not a problem for us as we were only one night. The bar is really cosy and excellent for a late night drink. Breakfast was good and plenty of it. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Obviously ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianLawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    175
    33
    14
    17
See reviews for
273
267
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our Family was home from Canada and they wanted to spend two or three days in Cork, and thought in our innocence that with the Country in recession that 4 Pensioners would be able to book a reasonable priced Hotel, but after ringing 3 or 4 of the larger Hotels we were sadly dissapointed, until we rang Kevin in the Bella Vista Hotel and apartments on Cobh. What a pleasure to talk to a friendly and understanding Man who immediately offered us a 2 bedroom apartment (both ensuite) complete with breakfast for an unbelievable low rate.
We just coul`nt believe our luck and wondered what we were going to get, but there was no need to worry. On arrival at the Hotel we were greeted by Kevin himself who made us immediately feel at home and he even helped us take our luggage to our Apartment. The apartment itself was absolutely fantastic with extra large bedrooms and bathrooms and a very large sitting room complete with fully furnished kitchen. Each room had its own Satelite T.V. and everything was absolutely spotless, we just could not believe our luck. Our Canadian relatives were so impressed that they asked Kevin for a DVD of the Hotel and Fishing facilities that Kevin offered so that they could tell their Fishing Friends in Canada.
We were not let down the following morning when we were shown into a beautioful dining room over looking the bay and were treated to a magnificent Irish breakfast whcih set us up for the day. Kevin stand clear we will certainly return to your magnificent Hotel and we are telling all our friends , We wish to thank you and your friendly Staff for a delightful experience. See you soon Leo & Rita Sheeran Dublin

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powervid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just back from staying at the Bella Vista. Kevin and his staff have a great hotel situated just off the town centre within walking distance of most places. The view from the rooms of the town and harbour are spectacular. Rooms are spaceous, clean and comfortable. We'll definitely stay with them when we are next in Cobh.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed from Christmas eve to 3rd January 2012 and have only great things to say about this hotel.Catherine on reception was amazing in giving us tips of where to go and which pubs etc to visit.We went for the fishing and was not let down by the quaility of the boats they have and the help we recieved.Unfortunetly Kevin was away so never got to meet him but when we arrived we had a personal letter explaining the weather issues at the time and that he had loaded the boat we were to use with fuel,rods weights etc etc.We will be going back later this year (when its a bit warmer) as I never quite got to catch my dream fish but im sure COBH and the Bellavista is the place my dream fish will come from.
Kevin runs a great ship and Catherine is is real credit to the hotel and the Bellavista Fishing Experience,she helped make our winter stay even more special.
We stayed in the Suite 9 overlooking the bay and what a fantastic view we woke up to every morning.WELL DONE TO KEVIN, CATHERINE and all at the BELLAVISTA....WE WILL BE BACK.

Simon and Kelly xxx

Room Tip: Self Catering Suite 9 for fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

When my son was three he fell twice in this hotel, once in bathroom with sloped!!! slippy lino and once from lightweight dining chair as foreign waiter tried to understand my order. Hotel did not even reply or apologise, as they said they would, when I wrote to TAMS about this danger. Worth paying more for a more saftey conscious hotel. Remember as worst hotel experience.

Room (above spiral staircase near reception) was noisy too due to airconditioning/heating system outside.

I stayed before January 2011 but can't get that date onscreen

Room Tip: Beware danger for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
492 reviews
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,149 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,509 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Property: Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,482 - ₹ 14,320
Hotel Class:2 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing