We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
The View With A Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The View With A Room
Captain's Table & Sitting Room Looking Out To Sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
The View With A Room
Captain's Table & Sitting Room
Looking Out To Sea
Roof Terrace with panoramic views of Cork Harbour
Kitchen with granite worktops
Master Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom No 2
Bedroom No 3
Bathroom No 2
Sunny Cobh
Harbour View
Ships passing
Colourful Cobh
The former White Star Line Offices now the Titantic Bar and Restaurant
Looking out to sea
Shiver me timbers !
Some American friends arrive in their own transport ! USS Leyte Gulf
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cobh, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gastromum
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

With trip advisor for every good review there is often a bad review so sometimes it's hard to know if it useful or not. In the case of The Waterfront in Cobh there has never been a bad review so already I was very hopeful!
The apartment was spotless, excellently furnished and gave a fantastic view across the harbour. Ken and Mairead were really helpful and Cobh was a great base to see Kinsale, The Ring of Kerry and lots of other activities for all the family. Definitely recommend this apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Waterfront Penthouse. We really do appreciate guests who tell us what they think of the apartment.We work hard to ensure visitors have a great time and it keeps us on our toes ! Glad to see you also spent time touring around West Cork which is easily reachable from Cobh.Hope to see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful Penthouse apartment in an ideal location”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had the great pleasure of staying in this fantastic penthouse apartment.3 bedrooms one with en-suite and separate family bathroom. All the necessary equipment is provided in kitchen etc.
The property has a large balcony which was so handy for both sun bathing and watching the Cruise Liners arriving on a daily basis. We dealt with Mairead who along with her husband owns the apartment. Mairead could not have been more helpful giving us names of places to visit and eateries. TV's are provided in the Master bedroom and the open plan kitchen / dining / living area. sea views from each bedroom and the dining table ideally situated to view the passing boats and ships. Quite simply this was a fantastic base for visiting the many attractions in and around Cobh. We would all return in a heartbeat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: All was good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Penthouse Apartment and we're really delighted you had a fantastic stay in Cobh. We're pleased when guests go away relaxed after their holiday,especially when the sun has been shining.Look forward to seeing you again soon. Mairead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart H
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant apartment, brilliant spot, rubbish weather!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed in Ken's Waterfront apartment in the very picturesque village of Cobh County Cork. We had arranged to meet Ken who then guided us a short distance to the apartment. On arrival i have to admit the entrance area, in the basement, was a little unwelcoming, but once we walked into the apartment we soon had very big smiles on our faces! The apartment itself was just what we expected from the pictures and more. Spotlessly clean, very spacious, everything u could possibly need and the views over cork harbour were amazing. We were lucky enough to be there at the same time a couple of large cruise ships came into the harbour which was quite a sight. All in all we had a fantastic trip, even though the weather was awful! Ken was a very welcoming and knowledgeable host and answered any questions we had concerning Cobh and adjoining area. I would most definitely recommend this apartment to anyone considering Cobh as a possible holiday destination and will definitely be back in the future.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Many thanks for posting you review of The Waterfront Penthouse in Cobh and we're delighted you and your family had such an enjoyable time.We can do most things to help our guests have a great time but unfortunately the weather is beyond our control! See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimijelaj...
Methven, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for our daughter's wedding day!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ken and Maruiad, thank you so much for making our stay so perfect. As the previous reviewer wrote, the kitchen was stocked with basics like sauces, spices, oils- thank you, very much appreciated as was the weekly clean and linen change. We were so lucky to see so many big liners like the Sea Princess and Royal princess dock at Cobh during our 3 week stay. We appreciated your email communication and loved bumping into you at your local! Our daughters wedding morning at The Penthouse couldn't have been at a more perfect location. The photographers' photos inside the unit are just gorgeous! Warm, comfy, perfect. As we have already said, we will definitely be back to stay at The Penthouse again! Thanks for making our visit from New Zealand amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, pleasant easy to communicate with.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Hi Jennifer,
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Waterfront Penthouse and that your daughter's wedding in Cobh was such a special occasion for you.We're delighted you also made it up the hill to the Roaring Donkey - look forward to seeing you again soon.Ken&Mairead
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiB78
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Ken and Mairead!!!!! Our stay for the 100th commemoration of the Lusitania was incredible and having somewhere that felt like a home away from home to come back to at the end of our day made our visit extra special.

For those of you who are thinking of booking:

Ken is a lovely man! He graciously took my father and uncle on a quick tour of the town to get their bearings and pointed out a few key sites for them to go and visit later on which they were very thankful for.

The penthouse is right across the street from an off-licence, is a 3 minute walk to the grocery store, a 5 minute walk to the Titanic Museum and gift shop, and a 10 minute walk to the train station and visitors centre. The Cathedral can be reached from taking the same road up the hill – again less than 5 minute walk. Everything is close by!

Upon arrival we were greeted at the train station by Ken and Mairead who drove us to the waterfront penthouse where we were surprised to see Guinness and Diet Coke stocked on the fridge ! The property is sparkling clean it looks brand spanking new. The bedrooms are bigger than what you would expect from a holiday rental property and the kitchen is stocked with pantry basics like vinegar, spices and other condiments which we weren't expecting. The penthouse is equipped with a washer and dryer, radiators for those cold days, and has the most comfy living room for quiet nights in. What made this place extra special is the patio with the incredible view…….it's quite addictive...especially when the ships come in.

We already told Ken that we will be back with more family in tow – Ken we have already referred you to a few people – will send you their names when they start planning. Thanks again for your wonderful hospitality!!
We will see you soon and will bring more Crown Royal :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property is beautiful and is exactly what you need out of a holiday home
Liked least: Nothing - this place is perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Waterfront Penthouse in Cobh. We're really thrilled that your trip from Canada to Cobh for the commemoration of the tragic sinking of the Lusitania which your distant relatives survived was a memorable one for you especially as we know how much planning had gone into your visit.Thousands of people came to town for the event and we're glad to have played a small part in making it such a successful one.Thanks also for the welcoming gift of the Crown Royal - come back again soon so we can pour some more Guinness into you in return !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing