We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Rented one of the small cottages for new years. Emailed to say we would be arriving between 3.30-4, arrived at 3.30 and a lovely lady called Brenda showed us around and told us that Peter and Ann deal with the payment and that they would be back soon. We waited until 4.15 (as the check-in time is 4) and then decided to go do a bit of shopping, we got into the car and as we were pulling out P and A arrived home and A asked us to park again and come in and pay... I thought it could of waited until we got back. While we were in the hall of the main house waiting for A to get the paper work, P walked through talking on the phone and didnt even acknowledge us, even it if was a business call I would expect him to at least smile/come say hello after.
Anyways, cottage was lovely. Christmas tree and champagne was a lovely touch, a few small complaints; there was a good few cobwebs around... I understand it's a cottage but obviously wasn't dusted that morning. Also the shower it directly under the stairs so the roof of the shower looks like stairs and not very comfortable for a tall person! The wash basket was very was old and dirty... so people won't mind this, I admit I'm a bit obsessed when it comes to things being spotless! The kitchen, bedroom, sky tv was all great. The outdoor hot-tub was lovely as was the table and chairs on the deck but be warned you can see the hot-tub from the back of the main house (although we never saw anyone looking out!)
My last bit of advice it that it is not within walking distance to the town, even if you are prepared to walk the half hour it is a windy country road with no road path. But taxis are easy, paid 7euros into Skib.
Overall nice cottages and a good location to explore west cork.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

We spent 3 lovely days in Cottage 2 in Grove House,the welcome was 5 star ,the accomadation was 5 star and the cottage just made you want to "wrap it up and take it home"
It was and is everything it says on the website.Anna made us very welcome and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I decided to head here for two nights after Christmas having read the reviews on tripadvisor. Peter is the perfect host, very polite, warm and trusting. He gave us directions to lassanroe barn as it is not on the same site as Grove House and basically left us to ourselves. When we arrived we had a Christmas tree and a bottle of bubbly waiting for us and a lovely note. The barn is advertised as self catering but I must add I still brought Kitchen towels, oil to cook, milk, coffee sugar etc and honestly I didn't need too everything was there, even a nice touch of milk in the fridge so you could make a cuppa on your arrival. Heating at the barn was timed and broke down the second day, when we rang we were told how to reset it and we stole this opportunity to change it to constant, even at that the bedroom was freezing and damp with signs of mould and mildew throughout. Definitely needs a touch up and wait for Summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I had stayed here back in april with friends, this time it was my husband and I and another couple that enjoyed Lassanroe Cottage. We were truly blessed with the weather and were able to explore nearby sights and villages such as lough Hynne and Baltimore. After a long day of walking in the countryside we were able to relax in the hot tub and watch the stars.
Lassanroe Cottage is both cosy and stylish with its wood burning stove and Sky (with sky movies a big plus for kicking back and relaxing) Were already checking our diarys to see when we can fit in another visit to Lassanroe cottage.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonyaquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Peter and Anna are so helpful and friendly on arrival they made us feel so welcome they gave us everything we need to know attractions, restaurants, takeaways etc.. there was a bottle of champagne on awaiting us which i thought was a lovely touch the cottage itself was fantastic. cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
18.4 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,189 reviews
2.4 km away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
488 reviews
27.5 km away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
514 reviews
20.9 km away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
186 reviews
15.8 km away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House and Courtyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House and Courtyard Cottages

Address: Skibbereen Retirement Village | Coolnagarrane, Skibbereen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Courtyard Skibbereen
Skibbereen Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing