We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Abbey Farm Is The Best!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Haggart

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Skibbereen, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Chad T
Gardiner, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abbey Farm Is The Best!”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Abbey Farm Holiday Homes the first week of June 2015. The rate was very reasonable, especially considering included amenities. The cottage was clean with fresh modern appointments, very comfortable and welcoming. Proprietors Mary Margaret and Aidan Fitzgerald couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating.

NB: Abbey Farm is a working farm. As farmers ourselves we loved it, but if being serenaded awake in the morning by a mooing cow or braying donkey is not your cuppa, well, you've been advised!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
It was great to meet you both and I'm delighted you had such a good time, meeting your friends and relations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation with all essential facilities.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Friendly service ensured that we understood how all available appliances operated.

Property was clean and well maintained with ample space for our needs. Storage space for clothing was not adequate for our length of stay (2 weeks) but would have been suitable for a shorter stay.

Ideally located for access to local shopping and other tourist attractions but was sufficiently distant to be unaffected by traffic or other noise. The main attractions were the donkey braying and watching milking of the cows.

Liked best quiet surroundings. Some problem with storage of clothing but was a very minor nuisance.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the help with the milking. Sorry about the storage space, but I'm glad it didn't interfere with your enjoyment of your holiday in Skibbereen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed H
Skerries, Ireland
1 review
“A home away from home in beautiful West Cork with room for disabled equipment”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We really enjoyed our holiday, in The Haggart. This year was our 3rd visit and we’ll definitely be back again. Our hosts were very welcoming, friendly and helpful in every way. The environment was quiet, relaxing and homely. The cottage was clean, comfortable and spacious, with plenty of room to manoeuvre the wheelchair and a hoist. It is an ideal location for exploring beautiful West Cork.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday experience, with no problems using hoist and wheelchair.
Liked least: There were no negatives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2013
Ger & Ed, it was lovely having you stay with us again this year. Hope you are keeping well and looking forward to meeting you both again in 2014. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wigan
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing