We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique 5 Star Liss Ard”
Review of Liss Ard Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Liss Ard Estate
Ranked #3 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique 5 Star Liss Ard”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have just returned from Liss Ard Estate where Arthur and his team can’t do enough for you – you really get an Irish welcome and are very well looked after. The food is fantastic, ingredients are sourced locally and cooked to perfection by Cliodhna. Meeting other guests over breakfast and after dinner coffee’s is a great change from other hotel dining rooms. Dinner and breakfast is a very pleasant, relaxed affair - you will never feel rushed in Liss Ard.

The little touches like the wellies, coats and walking sticks so you can explore the extensive grounds in all sorts of weather with the maps left in your room just prove how special a place Liss Ard really is. The Sky Garden is an amazing sight even in cloudy weather!

We stayed in great comfort in the main house in the Ha Ha room which has lovely period features with a mix of contemporary and antique furnishings, the peace and quiet is wonderful with great views over the West Cork countryside.

Liss Ard is everything and more that it says on the website – we really loved it and will be spreading the word amongst all our friends, in fact we have started already! Part of me wants to keep such a wonderful place secret so it doesn’t get over run with tourists and become just like every other hotel in Ireland.

There is something magical and very special about Liss Ard that I hope will remain when it becomes one of Ireland’s top destinations which it will become if Arthur and his team continue to give guests the Liss Ard 5 star treatment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    40
    10
    13
    3
See reviews for
61
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed at Liss Ard for five nights with family in September
The estate is an absolute joy and one of the great hidden gems in Ireland.
We (including a 2-year-old) thorougly enjoyed every minute of our stay in this special place, enhanced all the more by not knowing what exactly to expect.
Liss Ard doesn't fit easily in the usual accommodation conventions of hotel, B&B etc but all the better for that.
All the staff were genuinely welcoming, courteous and willing to go that extra step to make you feel at home.
Also the cost represented great value for money.
Only thing - the selfish part of me hopes it doesn't become too popular as it could be harder to get a reservation in future. The experience really was that good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMcC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Myself and my boyfriend had booked tickets for an event in skibbereen and almost as an afterthought had to find somewhere to stay nearby. We stumbled upon Liss Ard while trolling through the various hotel websites. We were a bit dubious when there was no star rating listed for Liss Ard but as soon as we arrived any doubts we had vanished! The wonderfully chi-chi decor of our room put an instant smile on my face! Bed was really comfy and big too. There is a wonderful ambience in the house and a feeling of real luxury and elegance while all the time it is decidedly different and nothing like a run of the mill generic hotel. Theres something special about a stay here. Staff very welcoming and ovely personal touches.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailstrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Beautifully kept period house where you're really made to feel at home. We had the run of the house with loads rooms & areas for relaxing with plenty of comfy sofas, armchairs & window seats. The use of the kitchen for storing & heating jr.'s meals and the kids' playroom are nice touches. We only got to see a fraction of the extensive gardens & forest walks with so many different areas to explore. The smell of Cliona's fresh-baked bread/cookies/scones wafts up from the kitchen every morning. Both breakfast & dinner are served simply, without over-complication which allows the local ingredients shine. All in all a winner.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room to the front of the main house - the rooms at the back are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejacksarebackok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

What a wonderful place. My husband and I stayed here in the beautiful O'Donovan suite. Great views from all the windows. Bathroom spotless with lovely fluffy robes and towels. Superking luxurious bed. Beautiful soft furnishings in the room and throughout the house.
Arthur and his team were brilliant, food was all locally sourced and homemade oat cookies hot from the oven for breakfast, delicious!
The whole place is a breath of fresh air, like visiting old friends in their beautiful relaxing country home. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
2.6 km away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
9.1 km away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
21.9 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.5 km away
Ilenroy House
Ilenroy House
#7 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.8 km away
Marguerites
Marguerites
#5 of 12 in Skibbereen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liss Ard Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liss Ard Estate

Property: Liss Ard Estate
Address: Castletownshend Road, Skibbereen, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,887 - ₹ 13,933
Hotel Class:4 star — Liss Ard Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic Georgian property returned to its former glory with furnishings offering a comfortable modern twist. 163 acres of woodlands, lake and waterfalls for our guests and visitors to enjoy. Fifty acre Lough Abisdealy available for fishing, swimming and complimentary rowing boat. We buy all possible produce from within 50 km of Liss Ard and grow our own vegetables in our walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Liss Ard Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liss Ard Estate Hotel Skibbereen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing