We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Liss Ard Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Celtic Ross Hotel(Rosscarbery)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
187
47
13
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
47
13
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake lodgethe main housewest corkdrawing roomhidden gemmews roomsweather was fantasticmanor housefour nightsstunning locationmobility issuesamazing placeweekend breakfrom start to finishspecial thanksbeautiful roomout of this world
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed at Liss Ard for five nights with family in September
The estate is an absolute joy and one of the great hidden gems in Ireland.
We (including a 2-year-old) thorougly enjoyed every minute of our stay in this special place, enhanced all the more by not knowing what exactly to expect.
Liss Ard doesn't fit easily in the usual accommodation conventions of hotel, B&B etc but all the better for that.
All the staff were genuinely welcoming, courteous and willing to go that extra step to make you feel at home.
Also the cost represented great value for money.
Only thing - the selfish part of me hopes it doesn't become too popular as it could be harder to get a reservation in future. The experience really was that good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMcC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Myself and my boyfriend had booked tickets for an event in skibbereen and almost as an afterthought had to find somewhere to stay nearby. We stumbled upon Liss Ard while trolling through the various hotel websites. We were a bit dubious when there was no star rating listed for Liss Ard but as soon as we arrived any doubts we had vanished! The wonderfully chi-chi decor of our room put an instant smile on my face! Bed was really comfy and big too. There is a wonderful ambience in the house and a feeling of real luxury and elegance while all the time it is decidedly different and nothing like a run of the mill generic hotel. Theres something special about a stay here. Staff very welcoming and ovely personal touches.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailstrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Beautifully kept period house where you're really made to feel at home. We had the run of the house with loads rooms & areas for relaxing with plenty of comfy sofas, armchairs & window seats. The use of the kitchen for storing & heating jr.'s meals and the kids' playroom are nice touches. We only got to see a fraction of the extensive gardens & forest walks with so many different areas to explore. The smell of Cliona's fresh-baked bread/cookies/scones wafts up from the kitchen every morning. Both breakfast & dinner are served simply, without over-complication which allows the local ingredients shine. All in all a winner.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room to the front of the main house - the rooms at the back are bigger
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejacksarebackok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

What a wonderful place. My husband and I stayed here in the beautiful O'Donovan suite. Great views from all the windows. Bathroom spotless with lovely fluffy robes and towels. Superking luxurious bed. Beautiful soft furnishings in the room and throughout the house.
Arthur and his team were brilliant, food was all locally sourced and homemade oat cookies hot from the oven for breakfast, delicious!
The whole place is a breath of fresh air, like visiting old friends in their beautiful relaxing country home. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We went down not really knowing anything about the place. The decor is superb, and the rooms were beautiful. The dinner is in the dining room, at the only table with whatever other guests have booked in for diner, if this is not your thing then I've no doubt you could ask to have diner in the living room by the fire, as the staff go out of their way to accommodate you. We had a lovely meal with another couple who were staying, and the whole thing was just so relaxing and enjoyable. The grounds are stunning.

Room Tip: phone ahead and ask for one, as arthur is very helpful
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmcmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews