We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth planning a vacation around this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
Ranked #2 of 16 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
boston, ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth planning a vacation around this B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

From accepting a last-minute reservation through to the last minute of our stay, the Grove Lodge was ideal. A friendly and open greeting, a beautiful, well-appointed, airy room; a garden to die for; lovely walks along the river; and a delicious, varied breakfast. The other travelers we met there were very interesting, as well. The Lodge also has condo-like facilities for families and longer stays. My husband is dreaming of a golf trip with friends based at the inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We are a couple with an 18 month old child and stayed here for a couple of nights, everything was perfect from start to finish. The hotel and the grounds are spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The room was very comfortable with a nice en-suite and the atmosphere of the place is great.

The breakfast is as good as we have ever had and that includes several 5 star hotels, there is a buffet of the usual cereals, meats, cheeses and bread alongside scones and other patisseries. On top of that there is a menu of cooked breakfast options which the owner cooks while you help yourself to the buffet (don't eat too much as the full Irish is very big!).

The friendliness of the owners really sets this place apart we felt welcomed and comfortable for the entire duration of our stay, our daughter had great fun playing with the family dog.

We highly recommend this place to anyone who might be considering staying here, we have already talked my mother into a visit and plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

Unfortunately we were only able to have a one night stay in this most lovely of guesthouses. We were a party of four people,& each of us loved everything about our comfortable night not forgetting the wonderfull breakfast & the charming staff.
If you are near to Killorglin ,be sure to stay here ,it's better than the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirandacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauffenheim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed in one of the holiday houses which was nice and modern but unfortunately not thoroughly clean. For example a pretty disgusting toilet brush was waiting for us in one of the bathrooms. Also, we were supposed to take an appartment that wasn't the category we had made reservations for. The lady there insisted the place was rented for the same price, but we insisted that we wanted what we had asked for. After an hour (of shopping) we came back, and we got what we had asked for. Other than that (and a missing light bulb and a leaking shower) everything was comfortable. Killorglin is sort of boring, however. Next time I'd stay in Killarney instead.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

I stayed in The Grove Lodge Guesthouse in August of last year, I have been all over the world but my trip to Kerry was one of my most memorable vacations to date. The location is riverside, with great views over the mountains. Breakfast was great, home cooked by Delia on the aga (what i expected of ireland) with great smoked salmon on the menu. The house is only 5mins walk from the town centre, but feels right in the countryside, great gardens also.The nearby town of Killorglin has great restaurants and pubs, offering irish charm and charmers!! Make sure you ask Fergus about trip suggestions, he seems to have all the information about places to visit, he recommended Valencia island to us, which was amazing.. Truly great stay..will be back this year again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0403586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killorglin
0.7 km away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
13.5 km away
Loch Lein Country House
20.2 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
33.9 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.6 km away
Coffey's River's Edge
Coffey's River's Edge
#1 of 16 in Killorglin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House

Property: Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
Address: Killarney Road, Killorglin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,176 - ₹ 7,710
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing