We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devine food”
Review of Giovannelli

Giovannelli
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Killorglin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 38
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 October 2018

As of Oct 2018, this is a Michelin bib restaurant.
Dani is a wonderful chef and host.
Giovannelli's is a small, intimate restaurant that serves some of the best Italian food I've ever tasted, The menu is deceptively simple but exquisitely out together.
Love it!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neilonoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018

Only restaurant I have ever walked out from. Small, unfriendly and run by an egotist who makes up the menu every day, with ridiculous prices. Clearly caters for select clientele and we clearly didn't make the grade; have eaten in far better, far more expensive restaurants than this so it is his loss not ours. There are plenty of excellent, friendly restaurants in Killorglin, so this one is unnecessary and, quite frankly, an embarrassment to a beautiful village filled with wonderful people.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Daniele is a great chef who only uses the best produce. All very tasty. The best gnocchi I have ever had in my life (with Gorgonzola and radicchio). Good winelist, great atmosphere and very friendly staff. If you like Italian food, then this is heaven.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 98gertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Usually we don't eat in Italian restaurants when we are in other countries but Giovannelli is a bit of Italy in Ireland and the cook knew conjugate the Italian soul of the kitchen with excellent products of Ireland. You have to taste the Irish mozzarella di bufala or the wild salmon just caught in the sea. Daniele, the cook, is at the same time kind and friendly. Thanks Daniele.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gianpaolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We tried to get a meal here a few weeks ago but it was fully booked. 2nd attempt we managed to get a reservation.
It is a small venue, the kitchen is in view, my wife was mesmerised by the attention that all the kitchen staff were taking with the presentation and preparation of dishes.
We were seated near the door and a lovely cool breeze was gently reducing the warmth.
The serving staff are smiley and courteous. Drinks were ordered and we settled in for the meal.
The starters came and were ok. Good quality food, fresh and well presented.
The main courses arrived, at last a venue that does not over cook steak.
The salmon was just starting to dry but was good enough.
The Amarone wine was lovely to compliment the dinner.
The seafood linguini, was fantastic, none of the seafood was over cooked, good presentation and a lovely sauce.
The Grappa is very smooth, the Limoncello is addictive according to my wife.
A great experience.
We will definately be back here.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Obelix-Boar-Muncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovannelli also viewed

Killorglin, County Kerry
 
Killorglin, County Kerry
Killorglin, County Kerry
 

Been to Giovannelli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing