We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old style hotel in central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old style hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is a throw back to bygone days with excellent service to match. Great central location with decent rooms. Excellent breakfast served with a smile. A negative was the lack of bar facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    100
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
121
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Clifden. We were greeted at the hotel with a very warm welcome. We had booked in for dinner on two occasions during our stay and on both occasions the meal was fantastic. The hotel was comfortable and welcoming and like other reviewers our bedroom was large with period furniture.
The location is superb the breakfast wonderful but more than all that the staff were all so helpful and friendly.
I would recommend Foyles to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMDRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

A classic old style hotel with charm. The receptionist on duty on 10 May was the happiest I have ever come across. Large comfortable rooms with period furniture giving real charm. Excellent location in the middle of town and a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We needed a weekend away and out of laziness went for the Hotel Restaurant on our first night. The food was fantastic and the personal friendly service was excellent.
For our second night, we enquired about, only to be told that the best restaurant in the town was the Marconi in Foyles! Oh well, back to the hotel, and for a second night, they impressed.
Clean rooms, a little basic, but very comfortable. Very good value for money. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just back from weekend in Clifden Stayed in Foyles Hotel. Very old world hotel but comfortable rooms. Food in the Marcaoni restaurant is just excellent. Friendly and effecient staff. When returnig I will request a room to the rear of the hotel to avoid street noise at night. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.3 km away
Clifden Station House
0.6 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.2 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,296 - ₹ 8,513
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing