We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location the best - town centre but feels remote”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Helen's Hideaway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Helen's Hideaway of Clifden harbour when the tide is out steps down to apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View from Helen's Hideaway of Clifden harbour when the tide is out
steps down to apartment
Bedroom 2 (with ensuite bathroom0
Bedroom 1 (may be changed to 2 single beds)
Living, dining and kitchen area
Dining area
kitchen
Main Bathroom with huge oval bath and spacious shower
Buddleia in bloom, July 2013
main bathroom
dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
CorkKevin
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location the best - town centre but feels remote”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect place to rent. Spotless, comfortable, lovely view over the water and about 100m to the centre of Clifden. The large oval bath, power shower, endless hot water and under-floor heating made the bathroom feel like a spa! Thunderstorms while we were there and given that it was our first trip away with our 7 week old, we didn't leave the apartment much and were very happy we had such a nice place to hang out. We didn't meet Helen - just picked up the key from the lock box and dropped it back later but she was available the whole time if we had any issues. This is exactly how we like it when we rent somewhere - no need for the small chat etc, just professionalism and privacy. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your first trip with your baby - may there be many more to Connemara!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argy14
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Little do you expect when you go down the thirty or more steps that you will find a stylishly designed apartment opening straight on to a gorgeous estuary and picturesque, small harbour. In the apartment we liked the spaciousness, the light coming into all the main rooms from the full-length glass doors, the modern decor and furnishings, the comfort of the beds, sofa and chairs, the well-equipped kitchen, bathroom with large spa bath and the en suite off the main bedroom. We split the king size bed for our two teenagers and used the smaller bed (a queen?). Outdoors we liked the large seating area and tranquil setting.We heard no noise all our time there. You could walk down through the rough grass to the water's edge. The centre of Clifden is a very short walk once up the steps. Most bars seem to offer live Irish music. A good supermarket is the first shop on your walk, so it's easy to keep the kitchen stocked up. We thought the price was reasonable for our three nights. Helen's partner met us once at the top of the steps and we enjoyed his friendly and witty manner. Otherwise we saw no one at all. So this truly is a hideaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The second bed could be bigger
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big apartment, cleanliness, and wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
siegfried...
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: De patio en de rustige omgeving.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla G
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing