We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel i have visited!!!”
Review of Brookside Hostel

Brookside Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookside Hostel
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hostel i have visited!!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We arrived in clifden and had not book any accomdation. To be honest we were surprise how easy it was to get a place to stay. We arrived at Brookside Hostel and was welcomed by a lovely lady called Rose. She was so helpful, went out of her way to make our stay a good one. The hostel is great, very clean and has internet access. I recommend to get a magic map from Richard, give you all the sightseeing things to do plus all the good places to go out in the evening. We were only going to stay one night but after speaking to Richard and Rose we stayed on for another 3 nights. Richard and Rose were so nice and i thank them for a great time. We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie6123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leiria
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2008

I've been at Brookside hostel for three days and would like to have stayed for a few more. Brookside is a very nice place to stay, very familiar, good accomodations, everything clean and peaceful. Mr Richard Bartley welcomes very nicely, gives very good informations about what to do in the region and he's always smiling and in a good humour. I had a Magic Map that was very useful. Surely i'll be back again one day. Thank you for your kindness.
Lígia

Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ligmarli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Richard is the kindest hostel owner of all we stayed at. GREAT location within walking distance of pubs, restaurants, and grocery store. The rooms and inside setting are plain but very clean. TV and internet access, and a full kitchen. If you need travel advice or any other information, Richard is happy to provide. Easy to find and very quiet in the bedrooms compared to other hostels I stayed at. Great if you want to stay in a place with conveniences, but that is not a big city.

  • Liked — The kind owners and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Slower than average internet is the only thing I can come up with.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rob4312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Over the May bank holiday I hired a car along with my sister and boyfriend and we traveled along part of the west coast of Ireland. We hadn't booked accomodation on the Saturday night, and so when we were about 1 1/2 hours out of Cliften looked up this hostel in the Lonely Planet and called ahead to see if they had any vacancies. I was told that they did so we headed there. When we turned up we were greeted by an older man who was all very chummy and friendly, but we said that we wanted to see the dorm rooms and find out the prices before accepting them. He gave us the keys to an 8 bed dorm, or said that we could have the 4 bed dorm, but we would have to pay for the extra bed in the room. I asked what would happen if we didn't want to take the last bed and were happy to have someone else in the room and he refused to even answer!
We went upstairs, but the rooms were very basic and without any character and the bathrooms weren't ensuite. We decided that it wasn't worth it, especially if we would have to pay €80 for the 4 bed dorm(!) so we went back downstairs and said, "sorry but we're going to leave it, it's not what we were expecting." Well the chummy old man turned and started saying that we'd done "pretty much the worst thing we possibly could, ringing ahead and booking 4(!!!) hours in advance and then cancelling on him...etc... rant... etc..." I could understand his stance if I'd booked ahead and his hostel was full and he had to turn away other bookings, but I only called him 90minutes prior to arriving, the hostel was half empty and we didn't even discuss price when I called, let alone confirm a booking. He chased us out the door, yelling at us to keep going and that we should go find a 5 star hotel somewhere.
Not the way to win customers.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeybos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

I had stayed at B&B's up until our stay at Brookside. We had gone inside to check it out and fell in love with Richard. I can't say enough about him. We ended up staying another night after following his Magic Map. We never would have known about the places he told us about and, in the end, this was the favorite part of our 2 weeks in Ireland.
My son and I were traveling together and there was a private room available that night for us to stay together.
If Richard can help you, he will. He is very, very funny! He isn't pushy, just start talking to him and he will open up. He is amazingly knowledgeable about the surrounding areas- he will tell you everything you need to know for a great experience.
When we return we will definitely stay again at Brookside Hostel.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khu870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,748 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
0.4 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
615 reviews
0.4 km away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hostel

Property: Brookside Hostel
Address: Fairgreen, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Brookside Hostel Clifden, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing