We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place has the WOW factor!”

Review of Sunnybank House

View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room Drawing room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room
Drawing room with open fire
Main hallway
Stairs leading to the first floor and 8 upstairs bedrooms
Library Room with integrated computer desk
Television room
Television Room
Dining Room- with 15ft Antique dining table which can seat 20
Kitchen- 6 ring hob- 3 ovens - 2 dishwashers- Ice machine
Kitchen pantry and utility room - with american fridge and freezer
Ensuite bathroom - Room 8
Pool and Sauna at dusk
Table and chairs outside back kitchen door near giant Weber bbq and herb bank
Gateway to Sunnybank House
Steps down onto Church Hill - 2 mins walk to the town square. 3 mins to private leisure centre
Driveway from the front door
Side gates, Tennis court and Car park from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
11 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brownie61...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“This place has the WOW factor!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed here for a week with 16 friends and family for a 50th birthday. When we first walked in we were blown away by the beauty and luxury of the house and grounds. There was plenty of space for everyone and we never felt crowded. The place is so comfortable and it was very handy to have laundry facilities. We hired the recommended caterer, Gillian, for a birthday dinner. The food was to die for and she is an absolute doll! The location is superb in that you feel very secluded while at the house yet it only takes a couple of minutes to walk to town. Bottom line - it was better than we could ever have imagined!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beth s
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a large group; home away from home!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We just returned from a wonderful family vacation at Sunnybank. All 21 of us loved it! There was plenty of room for us, allowing the perfect blend of togetherness and private time. The house is very well equipped, and has so much character. It was easy to pretend that we were all living in a fancy country estate! Each of the bedrooms, with its own bathroom and shower, were unique. All were comfortable. The common areas were spacious and cozy, especially in front of the peat fire! The location couldn't be better, just a short walk from the charming town of Clifden, with its many shops, restaurants, and pubs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNL60
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
“A great experience for the entire group of 23 people!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Shane and Rachael were terrific to work with. We had a group of 23 intotal with an international travel business that I run and this trip was fantastic. I had a number of people with me that had never stayed in a property like this with a group of strangers and it could not have worked out better. Sunnybank House was clean, roomy, comfortable and great to entertain the group. So positive was this experience that many of the guests want to come on the next trip that ia am planning. The property is perfectly located to allow for walking into the town of Clifden. There is great golfing just a short distance away that we enjoyed for 3 rounds. I would go back to Sunnybank House without reservation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrayJan
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Bar raised to the highest notch.”
Reviewed 31 August 2010 for a stay in June 2010

We booked Sunnybank House because the web site looked appealing and it could cater for our annual gathering of 20 friends (10 couples). We were astonished with the comfortable standard of accomodation, the pool, the location and the facilities. The kitchen was fine as turns were taken in the catering department, but it was a bit of a squeeze in the dining room. This did not detract from the enjoyment and camaraderie of our reunion. The bedrooms were spacious and the beds really comfortable. There is enough space downstairs with the sitting room, library (with internet access) T.V room and dining room to prevent cabin fever. Lunch in Guys, Coffee in Alcock & Browns, tea in the Abbeyglen and early evening music in any of the bars in Clifden in addition to the numerous attractions of Connemara made for fabulous memories. Sunnybank House is a wonderful location, and at a cost of €350.00 per couple for a week unbelievable value.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing