We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 122
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$ 238
US$ 221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilkenny Inn Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kilford Arms Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Woodford Dolmen Hotel(Carlow)(Great Value!)
US$ 94
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 120
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lord Bagenal Inn(Leighlinbridge)
US$ 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
40
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconeswandesforde housefull irish breakfastmichael mcdonaldcountrysideirelandkilkenny
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We stayed in this beautiful B&B for two nights, while attending a family party in Castlecomer. Ideal for us as it was so close to the function we were attending. On arrival Anna was more than welcoming the house itself is beautiful, in a quiet peaceful location. Our rooms were absolutely beautiful. Breakfast the next morning was amazing with a fabulous choice. We could have sat and watched the hens and ducks all day. Thank you Anna, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danicarey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DROMISKINGAL, Owner at Wandesforde House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for the kind words. It's always a pleasure when guests enjoy their breakfast.
We love our hens and ducks and I'm delighted you enjoyed them too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed with our family at Wandesforde House on Saturday 22nd July.
The warm welcome from Anna and Michael, the owners was unbelievable. The House is situated in a beautiful village with a true community spirit.
The House is in a perfect setting, a beautiful village with a true community spirit.
The views front and rear are breathtaking.
The House is immaculate, well furnished and spotlessly clean.
The Irish breakfast is one of the best!
Nothing is too much trouble, it truly is like 'home from home'.
You cannot put a price on Anna and Michael's kindness and hospitality. I would definitely recommend this B&B and certainly will return.
It truly deserves it 5 star rating.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank MaggieMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DROMISKINGAL, Owner at Wandesforde House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

We are delighted you enjoyed your short visit to Wandesforde House. Thank you for your kind words and we would love to see you return. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Staying with Michael & Anna (the owners/operators) at Wadesford House is like spending a few days with friends. They both are friendly, personable, helpful and very welcoming. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. The B&B is 5 minutes from Castlecomer and approx. 20 minutes from Kilkenny so you can drive into town for touring the castle, museums or dinner and enjoy the tranquility of the countryside for sleeping. The rooms are well decorated and beds are very comfortable....sleeping is great!
The "full Irish breakfast" is huge and delicious. Fresh eggs from their chickens, sausage, bacon, beans, black & white pudding, breads, scones, juice & coffee,tea. Outstanding!! If you are hungry when you leave for the day, it is your doing. we fully intend to stay with Michael & Anna whenever we are near Wadesford House.

Room Tip: All 6 rooms have a beautiful view of the surrounding Irish countryside
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DROMISKINGAL, Owner at Wandesforde House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for such kind words. We are delighted when we hear people are happy. I enjoy cooking and love when I see empty plates. Here at Wandesforde House we are always delighted when we have repeat business. Don't forget to mention it when booking your next visit. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Wandesforde House for the third time. The rooms have recently been re-decorated and are as beautiful as always! The grounds continue to be maintained like a park...Anna and Michael McDonald are kind and honest people who are quick to assist in any need you may have. I am happy to make their Inn my "home away from home" when I travel to Ireland. Castlecomer is conveniently located in the south eastern part of the country and while I love to explore Kilkenny and neighboring counties, at the end of the day I am happy to return 'home' to Wandesforde.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. My favorite is #2. (on the ground floor)
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindilou26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DROMISKINGAL, Owner at Wandesforde House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Here at Wandesforde House we are always delighted to welcome you "home". We are so pleased you enjoyed your third visit, and hope we can continue to draw you back. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

A friend and I decided to spend some time in Cork over the summer, and on our way back up through the country I thought we should see if there was room at the Wandesforde.
An impromptu visit back was planned on the drive up and we were greeted by open arms, and felt more like family than customers!
My friend never stays in B&B's and was dubious about the stay, however having stayed with Anna at 'Wandesforde House', he has changed his opinion totally, and is even talking about bringing his wife down for a stay.
The house is beautiful, tastefully furnished, and the rooms well equipped. The breakfast is still one of the best I have had.

I will definitely be planning more trips to Castlecomer in the future!
If you are thinking of visiting Kilkenny, Castlecomer is only a few miles from the City, and is an excellent place to make base for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews