We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,827 results
Traveller rating
1,218
373
138
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,218
373
138
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrevas spatimmy macskids clubfitzgerald familythermal suitewedding receptionleisure centretop classwould highly recommend this hotelfamily breakexcellent hotelfunction roomfrom start to finishstaff were so friendlywedding guestsfood was amazingwedding venue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 1,827 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

i have stayed here a few times and cant wait to go back there again ,everything is fab from the time you enter the door to the time you finish your break .the staff are very friendly the food is excellent and the situtation is brill .
keep up the good work and we will be back soon .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsbreen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsadare, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Many thanks for your very kind review. We appreciate your kind feedback. We having been working very diligently at improving our facilities so hopefully you will see the benefit of our labour on your next visit.

Looking forward to meeting you again.

Kind Regards

Elaina and the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here as part leisure/business. In a beautiful part of Ireland, large hotel with fabulous spa facilities and good eating and drinking options. Reception staff were excellent and dealt with all our queries efficiently. Our room had 1 Double & 2 Single Beds and was extremely comfortable with ample pillows. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and was well stocked, towels were large and fluffy! We had a view of the pastures around the hotel with horses grazing, very peaceful. We ate in Timmy Mac's Bistro for lunch, dinner & breakfast, all were excellent with good service. The bar is a good place to chill out in the evening, staff very friendly and they have music nights on Sundays which unfortunately we could not be there for.

Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a visit to this area,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsadare, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Many thanks for your very kind review. We really appreciate your feedback as it is very comprehensive. The team here in the hotel are also delighted to share it.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the near furture,

Kind Regards


Elaina & the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A group of 6 friends recently stayed in the woodlands - the hotel has the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in - the mattress toppers are fantastic and so relaxing!
The staff are all so friendly and helpful and chatty. We had lunch in Timmy Macs and had the best chicken burger ever.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsadare, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Many thanks for your really kind feedback. Our beds are amazing - I am biased of course but we did design them specifically for our hotel so it is a secret recipe. We do sell them to our loyal guests so let me know if you would like some further information.

In relation to your dining experience in Timmy Mac's, your feedback has been noted as we are in the process of changing the menu in our bistro in line with its recent refurbishment. We are happy to keep the chicken burger on the menu !

Thanks again for your visit & for your feedback. Please let me know personally when you are visiting again.

Kind Regards

Elaina and the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel as it was my brothers wedding. The staff, service, hospitality, accomodation was outstanding. We could not find fault with anything and would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. The owner welcomed each and every person attending the wedding and you would instintly think you were home away from home.

Room Tip: we stayed in the superior room it was just fab very spacious and the beds I could have stayed in it all day
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsadare, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Many thanks for your feedback. It was our pleasure to host your brother's wedding. Having been in business for almost 30 years, we too feel like part of the family on a couple's ever special wedding day.

You are right about the superior rooms, lots of extras to make our guests' stay that little more special.

Hoping to welcome you to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Elaina and the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel has two restaurants and they both have gluten free options! There is a nice variety to choose from but the steak(€26) or lamb(€23) has to be the best. It is expensive but worth the money. The chips/fries are also cooked in seperate friers so you even have them GF also! They have four choices of GF desserts, including banoffee pie and chocolate and raspberry gateau. Very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mr_Hyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandsadare, Owner at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Gluten intolerance is a huge issue for so many of our guests & we are glad to lead the way in providing what we believe is the number one gluten free dining experience in the mid western area.

Watch out for our new restaurant ( soon to be named - we would appreciate your guidance). We will be continuing with the same gluten free ethos at the core of this new dining experience.

Hope to see you soon

Elaina and the team in Fitzgeralds Woodlands House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews