We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school hotel in a pretty village, beautiful bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunraven Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Stayed here over night on a Sunday late November parking was difficult to find , car-park extremely busy . Check-in was quick , girl in reception was efficient & friendly, our room was beautiful , huge & overlooked the garden . Went to the bar for food as it was lashing outside but menu wasn't to our liking & not much choice at all , ended up ordering a dessert , no atmosphere in the bar it was awful & the conservatory very uninviting , the lighting was very harsh not somewhere you would enjoy sitting in to have a drink, very disappointing. Breakfast the following morning was beautiful , porridge to order , buffet for hot breakfast , fried eggs ordered freshly , lots of breads & pastries , really nice . Overall an old school hotel in a pretty village

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

I had not been to the Dunraven Arms in a very long time & I guess after my most recent experience it will be a good while before I frequent the place again. The positives were that the food was good & the prices were reasonable . We went for the lunch menu. The downside was that the service was terrible. There were 2 choices for the main course, I asked what was the meat served for one of them & the waitress had to go away & check. There were many other examples while we were there of poor service. Dunraven Arms Service, I would have expected more. Looks like the staff were not trained at all, just thrown into the deep end, if that is the case then that is managements fault. We were in the area close to the bar, nice conservatory area but the atmosphere was dead & it is Christmas . Overall very disappointing, there are a lot of other good restaurants around Adare for lunch & going forward I will visit these instead.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank Mustardseed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

A young lady sits at a table in the lobby of the Dunraven Arms Hotel. I approach her to check in but she waves wildly in the direction of a room behind her which must be where reception is located. This lady has obviously had this problem a thousand times before. I go to the afore mentioned room where a bench is so high I can scarcely see anyone behind it. A voice welcomes me to the hotel and a young lady arises from her hidden seat and gives me a room key. No other hotel information is disclosed save the general location of the bedroom. The room key has a metal attachment roughly the size and shape of a generous slice of pizza. Lose this key and you have clearly been very careless.
The bedroom does not disappoint in terms of size, furnishings and cleanliness. It does lack the gowns and slippers advertised for this type of room. Were we allocated the type of executive room we booked.? The lady with the voice at reception had not mentioned what type of room it was. Alas, our gowns are delivered by housekeeping, our doubts are dispelled, this is an executive room after all.
We switch on the television which is mounted in a convenient corner. The remote is small, rather like a bar of soap. The picture is mono, the channels very limited and even some of these are not accessible. We resort to the bar where none of the 3 choices on the main course menu are to our liking. We eat elsewhere. Breakfast next morning however is good and on that account and as we slept well, I feel generous enough to raise the grading from 3 to 4 stars.
The Dunraven Arms Hotel is indeed quaint.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

great location to walk everywhere...but very busy and noisy....they have family and reading rooms with fireplaces.....lots of events.....i would do a B & B again....as I like small....but the staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: it long walk to the end but away from the noise and ground to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 66travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Really nice stay . Friends wedding. Facilities and staff first class. Service food and facilities excellent. Room lovely. Some reservations at breakfast service fell down and was a disappointment. I think they struggled to cope with numbers at busy time so hopefully they can improve on this.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 410Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adare
1.5 km away
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
14.7 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,499 reviews
14.8 km away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 km away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,034 reviews
14.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
15.3 km away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunraven Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunraven Arms Hotel

Address: Dunraven Arms Hotel Main Street, Adare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Adare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Adare
Price Range: ₹ 10,090 - ₹ 16,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunraven Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Dunraven Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunraven Arms Adare
Hotel Dunraven Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing