We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rivermount House B&B
Ranked #13 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed for two nights in Rivermount House with hubby and 2 young children (6 and 4 years). When walking through the front door my 6 year old said "wow, now this is nice" and I couldn't agree more as it looks like something out of the pages of an interior magazine. Claire couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful from the start, great with ideas of places to go and things to do with the kids. Family room we were allocated was perfect as it consisted of a seperate bedroom for the kids (like a mini apartment) so we didn't feel we were on top of each other as is typical with family rooms in hotels. Breakfast was just gorgeous (especially the pancakes) and plenty of it. As it can sometimes be difficult in the evening to be out with young kids, Claire suggested we bring back a bottle of wine in the evening which we did and the beautiful sunroom/lounge area even had a wine cooler for our use. I can't recommend Rivermount House enough and will definately be back soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 231 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is our second stay and it was great. Claire is so much fun and the room and breakfast was awesome. We will definitely be back for a third visit! Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask Claire for recommendations to eat in town, and don't go to Ned Kellys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VLDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The best way to describe Rivermount House is to say that it's the B&B equivalent of the Ritz-Carlton. The rooms are FAR superior to a normal B&B, more like the Ritz. The breakfasts are just amazing; Gourmet. The price is reasonable and the owners and staff welcoming. There is a very nice sitting room with computer. Large parking lot by Irish standards. They have wireless internet, 110 and 220 electric. VERY clean. It is a bit off the beaten path, but nearly everything, worth your time, is in Ireland; you will not be disappointed. We were very surprised at how many travelers 'found' this B&B; it's like it's a well-kept secret among those who know. There is very little that would entice me back to Ireland other than some of the people, the natural beauty... and as odd as it sounds, we'd return to stay again at Rivermount House. In a Country which overstates and over charges (to be polite) nearly everything and very, very often disappoints Rivermount House is a breath of integrity, fresh air, value, and quality.

Room Tip: all 6 or 8 rooms are good, but ask to stay in the downstairs front room with the bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilikepurple069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Wow! I thought I'd walked into a show house for an interior design magazine when I stepped through the front door. This is probably the most stylish b&b I've yet visited in Ireland.

Our en-suite triple bedroom was spacious (see photos) and comfortable, decorated in neutral shades with red highlights. Two single beds were located in the main part of the room and a further single bed was "hidden" behind a partition wall (together with huge storage cupboard): ideal for parents and child/3rd family member. Spotlessly clean, too!

Breakfast was served in the attractive breakfast room off the lobby - and was delicious! Excellent selection of hot dishes made it difficult to decide what to have, and my two children were very well looked after (yummy hot chocolate, and child-size portions).

Location: I'd specifically chosen Rivermount House as I didn't want to stay in the centre of Kinsale in August: far too busy and noisy. The B&B is located a short drive from Kinsale, down a quiet country lane: gorgeous rural views of county Cork. Do print out directions (which are spot on) to take with you, as I imagine it would be difficult to find otherwise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarnia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed two nights at Rivermount House towards the end of October, which is at the end of the tourist season. When we arrived at the B&B, we were informed by our hostess that she had "checked out" for the year. While I can certainly appreciate the stress of running a 5 star B&B for several busy months, I cannot appreciate being told that our hostess basically didn't want anything to do with us. We didn't see her during the rest of our time there. Instead, we were attended by another woman who was slightly more helpful, though could not produce a map of the surrounding area, something every other place we stayed was able to do. If you remove the personnel from the equation, then Rivermount is a beautiful place to stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed, which matched the rest of the house. If traditional Irish is what you're looking for in a B&B, this probably isn't your place, as it veers more towards the modern. Breakfast was middle of the road in our opinion and location, while a little outside of Kinsale, isn't too far away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cclancy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
3.4 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
997 reviews
3.4 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
3.4 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
5.3 km away
The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast
3.5 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#16 of 52 in Kinsale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivermount House B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermount House B&B

Address: Rivermount House Barrells Cross, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: ₹ 8,682 - ₹ 12,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the scenic river, Rivermount House completed a total upgrade and refurbishment in 2008. It offers four-star quality at affordable rates. We feature classic mahogany furniture, heavily embossed wall coverings and exquisite soft furnishings, which have all resulted in creating an ambiance of luxury comfort and style. With a classy polished marble foyer, this accommodation feels more like a boutique hotel but with the personal attention and traditional warmth of a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivermount House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivermount House Bed And Breakfast
Rivermount House Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing