We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B”
Review of The Old Presbytery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Presbytery
Ranked #2 of 52 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Old Presbytery has been a B&B for many years, but originally it was a Presbytery housing Kinsale's clergy. Our room was overlooking Cork Street and was quite small, with a brass bed and small ensuite but beautifully decorated to suit the era of the building and very comfortable. It is centrally located so you can easily walk around the town and down to the river. The breakfast was one of the best we had in 3 weeks travelling around Ireland. A wonderful fruit salad with at least 6 different fruits, a buffet of various quality cereals with yoghurt and prunes and a large choice of hot breakfasts to choose from in the menu. And of course a choice of coffees and teas. There is also off road parking provided. The only negative would be the shower. Because of the solar tubes (an environmental positive) the hot water takes a while to arrive, but if you are aware in advance you won't stand there thinking there is no hot water. We would definitely stay there again if visiting Kinsale in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotti17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 701 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

We just spent four nights at the Old Pres and can't find the right words to express how wonderful it was!! Phillip and Noreen are far more than inn-keepers. By the time we left, we felt like we were leaving old friends. The location is perfect - close to everything in town. We walked everywhere! The rooms are quaint, cozy and the bed so comfy it was hard to get up in the morning. And those breakfasts....what a true treat served beautifully in a lovely dining room. I never needed lunch!

I would definitely go back to Kinsale just for the opportunity to visit with Noreen and Phillip and stay in their lovely B&B. Thanks for a truly memorable visit!

Craig and Nancy Probst

Room Tip: I think they're probably all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stated here on Saturday night. We were welcomed at the door and shown to room 4 a great family room. The establishment is located in the middle of the town which was bustling with the fringe jazz festival on. The wifi worked well in the room and the hospitality tray was appreciated.

Breakfast was perfect. The other two opted for the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs whilst I decided not to break with tradition and have a cooked breakfast


We will return again soon I hope

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conorsdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had a great night's stay at the Old Presbytery. For those that write reviews about excessive noise in a B&B in a downtown environment (and in Ireland none the less) they are just off base. This hotel is certainly not silent but our room was directly over the street and this was not a problem for us at all. Part of the charming charachter of the space is the creaky doors and floors and the skeleton key locks in the rooms. The owners are very nice and gave us an immediate welcome and very good recommendations for where to go and what to see around town. The breakfast was excellent. I would very much recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Go to Zuul's for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Kenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This truly was a great location. We were five minutes walk from most anything we wanted to see or do in Kinsale. It is advertised as a luxury B&B and the price certainly would make you think so. There were lovely linens on the bed and little touches here and there but except for the novelty of being in an old historical building and being surrounded by quite nice antique furnishings, I’m not sure I would tack luxury on to the description. Our standard room was very small as was our bathroom which had its own door out into the hall—a bit unnerving even though it was locked. There was a nice fruit mix for breakfast and the usual cereals but I didn’t think the menu was as nice as some we’d had in other B&Bs on the trip. If you can’t do stairs, be sure to get a room on the first floor (which may be a premium). You will still have to climb stairs to get to the dining area but at least you won’t have to lug suitcases up three flights. Again, if you are looking for novelty and location, this is the place and you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: If you can't do steps, be sure to get a first floor room although you may pay more for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writingwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
4.2 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
985 reviews
0.8 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
714 reviews
1 km away
Landfall House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 52 in Kinsale
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Presbytery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: ₹ 7,768 - ₹ 13,810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing