We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desmond House Kinsale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trident Hotel Kinsale(Kinsale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Roberts Cove Inn(Minane Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Munster Arms(Bandon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtmacsherry Hotel(Courtmacsherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
473
24
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
24
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharles fort suitesconeshead suiteb bthe perfect hostrooms are hugegranolaplace to stayquiet streetin townjacuzzi tubbreakfast was deliciousfabulous staylocation is idealhome away from homegracious hostsspent two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying with Michael at Desmond House and could not be more pleased with our choice of B & B. Michael went out of his way to make us welcome, even walking down to find us (when we were 'mislaid'), and carrying our bags back to his lovely home. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and our only regret was that we were there for only one night. Kinsale is gorgeous and we shall return! Had our best night in Ireland there. Highly recommend both the B & B, and Michael.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Hopefully by reading the other reviews, you have a sense of how relaxing and enjoyable Kinsale and Desmond House are and our experience was no different. The town is lovely and the B&B is chaming. Our room was big and looked out over the city. We truly enjoyed sitting in the big comfy chairs and staring out the window. Michael was not only gracious and fun, but personally helped me deal with a computer challenge I was having with AT&T. He takes pride in cooking and conversation and you will be well taken care of. Go, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Kinsale was our favorite stop on our visit to Ireland and Desmond House was our B&B. Michael was the perfect host. He was on the spot with food and beverage recommendations. His home is very well maintained. Of all the places we stayed (both in Ireland and Scotland) the breakfast at Desmond House was the most varied. Michael gave us a menu and told us to order whatever we wanted, even if it wasn't mentioned on the menu. Great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCRedOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our stay in Kinsale was too short. Will fix that next time around. Great place to stay. Michael was the most charming Irishman we met on our 10 day visit. Perfect visit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

With my wife and son, we had the pleasure to visit Kinsale and stay at Desmond House. Micheal was the perfect host, warm and caring. He introduced us to Kinsale, colorfully explaining how the town propered and develop over time. It was pure delight! The B&B is perfectly located, right in the middle of town with every sight within walking distance. Our room, the Charles Fort suite was warm, inviting and very well appointed. Breakfast was exquisite. We only stayed one night and wish we stayed longer. Desmond House wins our top rating. Thank you Micheal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews