We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desmond House Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 55 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Baased on the great reviews we read on Trip Advisor, we booked our one night in Kinsale at Desmond House. Unfortunately our experience there was overall a big disappointment. The room was certainly comfortable, however not as clean as I would have liked. The crystal chandelier over the bed was very dusty & even had cobwebs on it. The bathroom ceiling had recessed halogen lighting; however two of the lights closest to the shower were missing so you could see right up into the crawl space. THAT in my opinion was unnerving and unacceptable. While Michael was a very cordial host & tremendously knowledgeable about Kinsale, his hospitality did not quite make up for Desmond House's shortcomings.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Regina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Werribee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying with Michael at Desmond House and could not be more pleased with our choice of B & B. Michael went out of his way to make us welcome, even walking down to find us (when we were 'mislaid'), and carrying our bags back to his lovely home. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and our only regret was that we were there for only one night. Kinsale is gorgeous and we shall return! Had our best night in Ireland there. Highly recommend both the B & B, and Michael.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Hopefully by reading the other reviews, you have a sense of how relaxing and enjoyable Kinsale and Desmond House are and our experience was no different. The town is lovely and the B&B is chaming. Our room was big and looked out over the city. We truly enjoyed sitting in the big comfy chairs and staring out the window. Michael was not only gracious and fun, but personally helped me deal with a computer challenge I was having with AT&T. He takes pride in cooking and conversation and you will be well taken care of. Go, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Kinsale was our favorite stop on our visit to Ireland and Desmond House was our B&B. Michael was the perfect host. He was on the spot with food and beverage recommendations. His home is very well maintained. Of all the places we stayed (both in Ireland and Scotland) the breakfast at Desmond House was the most varied. Michael gave us a menu and told us to order whatever we wanted, even if it wasn't mentioned on the menu. Great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCRedOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our stay in Kinsale was too short. Will fix that next time around. Great place to stay. Michael was the most charming Irishman we met on our 10 day visit. Perfect visit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.5 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.2 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.3 km away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#15 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desmond House Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desmond House Kinsale

Property: Desmond House Kinsale
Address: Desmond House 42 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,995 - ₹ 9,093
Hotel Class:4 star — Desmond House Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desmond House Kinsale is a lovely old Georgian house in the center of the old part of Kinsale. Huge bedrooms and full bathrooms including whirlpool tubs. Park your car and walk to the award winning restaurants. Only 4 bedrooms so personal attention of knowledgeable owners is available to help with enjoying your stay. Desmond House Kinsale is a great place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desmond House Kinsale Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing