We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing overall!”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #18 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Variety and choice of food was terrible for the price! Was noisy as across road from a disco! Will not be returning!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Dingle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

The White House is centrally located in Kinsale within walking distance to everything. We encountered all sorts of small problems which detracted from our overall enjoyment of the stay.

First off, there is nowhere to pull in your car while you are registering. Parking is a big problem in Kinsale and we had to park all the way up the road around a bend. We did park illegally for a few minutes to unload the luggage. When we arrived it was about 5:30 p.m. and there was no one at reception. I kept ringing the bell without response. Finally I went into the adjacent pub and begged for help. A young man rushed over and gave me a key, then disappeared. We did not get the wifi code or assistance of any kind. (Subsequent calls to reception rang and rang without being answered). Our room was on the 2nd floor (3rd American) and we had to drag our suitcases up several flights of narrow stairs.

Our room was small and dark due to charcoal grey wallpaper and dark brown curtains. The bathroom was tiny with a circular plastic shower stall. If you have mold allergies this room would not have worked for you.

The beds were comfortable and there was tea/coffee equipment. The TV was tiny and had only a few channels. There was no in room safe. There was 1 luggage rack, but no where to set down our 2nd suitcase, so I ended up balancing it on the dressing table!

We slept soundly until about 5 a.m. when the garbage truck arrived behind the building to collect what sounded like alot of recyclables. This went on for 10 - 15 minutes until we were truly awake.

Breakfast was the highlight of our stay. The menu was varied and all dishes cooked to order. I had scrambled eggs served with smoked salmon, my sister had poached fish.

A hint for you: later in the evening when traffic clears out, move your car to the lot immediately behind the hotel. In the morning we checked out before staying in town to do sightseeing. We loaded the cases into the trunk, then backed all the way back into the hedge which proved a very effective theft deterrent!

If you are looking for a great place to eat in town, Fishy Fishy has opened a restaurant now that is open in the evening. I advise reserving ahead as it's VERY popular. Amazing mussels and fish & chips.

Also, drive out to the Bulman Bar for a sunset beer. The setting is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed here in Feb. It's in a great location but private parking is not included. Behind the hotel is a free lot but is public so first come first served and is a bit of a squeeze. Our room was up alot of stairs but when we got there the room was large and bright. Bathroom was good but very dark and a little small. We ate in the hotel bar and the food was excellent. All the staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and efficient. Overall a very good experience and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmuscle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed recently at the White House. We arrived late in the evening, but were told we could eat when we liked, it was no problem. Dinner was excellent, lovely food and very attentive service with good wine recommendations. Room was big and airy and for a Sat night, very minimal noise outside, didn't disturb us. Breakfast following morning superb, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, one of the best! Really great value for money, great location with brilliant staff. Bar was lovely to have a drink in also. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribesmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Fabulous stay here. Superb correspondence beforehand. Friendly and helpful staff. SPOTLESS and gorgeous rooms with all the bits you would expect - EXACTLY like the website. Great bar and restaurant - beautiful non greasy breakfast! CENTRAL location. DEFINITELY would book here again if we return to Kinsale (which is likely after 3 times already!).
Please feel free to email me if you have any questions :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FITZGIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
4.1 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
981 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pier House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
58 reviews
3.4 km away
Rivermount House B&B
Rivermount House B&B
#10 of 53 in Kinsale
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Pearse Street and The Glen, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Price Range: ₹ 8,542 - ₹ 10,448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Kinsale
White Hotel Kinsale
The White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing