We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time in Kinsale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a great time in Kinsale”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a great time in the Trident hotel last month. Four of us stayed here for a weekend and it was great. We found that the location of the hotel was perfect as we could easily walk into the town centre within minutes.
They was a wide range of choices on the menu. We had lunch and dinner here and we were very pleased with everything we got.
The staff were very kind and helped me with a dietary requirement.
My only problem was that I wish we could've stayed longer!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    342
    145
    50
    23
See reviews for
171
514
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just checked out of the Trident Hotel in Kinsale on a recommendation from the Ritz Carlton in Powerscourt. This may have been the worst hotel experience I've ever had. The room was dirty, the non-smoking room reeked of smoke, the linens were so old they felt clammy, the walls were filthy, the executive room hadn't been cleaned in months (there was a ring of dust around the room) and the entire hotel is desperately in need of a renovation. It's laughable the hotel rates itself a 4 star. The only reason I would rate the hotel a 2 star is the location. Other than that, this self-proclaimed 4 star is well below average and certainly not worth the price. If you're traveling to Kinsale - make sure you wait for the "high season" as most of the towne is still closed in late March. You couldn't even find 1 bar that played live Irish music - such a disappointment when all you want is a relax and drink a pint while listening to some Irish folk songs. Kinsale may be a lovely town in the summer season, but if you're traveling there on holiday or any other time of the year - either rent a B&B or make it a day trip and drive back up to Killarney or Cork for the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel has a good location and fabulous views off the beautiful Kinsale harbour. The breakfast is good with a wide choice available. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I stayed here on saint Patrick's weekend it was full to capacity still there was nothing lacking in the service. It is dearer than most hotels in the town but still I always stay here when in Kinsale.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just back from a one night stay and won't be returning any time soon. This hotel has a lovely position right on the waters edge and in the centre of town close to restaurants, shops etc unfortunately while it is very clean it is looking tired. The room was of a good size and overlooked the water, but it needs a re-vamp, the TV was old fashioned and light curtains meant the room was very bright from first light. The bathroom is spacious with a separate shower but lacks decent lighting. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was ok, nothing spectacular and the staff weren't particularly friendly. However the biggest problem here was shouting, laughing and general noise from guests at 0500 in the morning, it began in the car park below and continued onto the corridor and the night staff didn't seem to be able to stop it. I complained to two separate staff the following morning but they weren't particularly bothered, a rather perfunctory "We'll look into it" What does that mean? I wouldn't call this hotel four star.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is right on the waters edge with its own jetty. The staff where polite & efficient & the food above average. Our room had a sea view & there is free internet access. Kinsale has a reputation for its cusine so expect to eat well but be prepared to pay slightly more. The town is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel & there are plenty of bars,cafes,antique shops etc to keep you entertained.
Kinsale is a good base to see around the Cork area. The town of Cobh (Queenstown Titanics last port of call) is only about an hours drive away. There are also plenty of nice beaches, country houses & parks to visit.
We drove from Belfast in 5 hours, all motorway & 3 toll booths.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available, we are an endangered species.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiftyish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
928 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,500 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,595 - ₹ 13,872
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing