We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed in the Trident as a family, 3 adults, a baby and a 7 year old. We all enjoyed our stay, the staff are lovely - couldn't do enough for us. We used the pool in the hotel next door, a great option when they don't have their own pool.
We went on a daytrip to the model village in Clonakilty and Inchydoney - while the hotel at the beach was beautiful the service in the restaurant was atrocius and put us off ever staying there. The Trident wouldn't be as luxurious as the Inchydoney - but the staff and general athmosphere would beat them hands down!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityCityHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear MAKH77,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and particularly that you found the staff helpful. Having met you all at breakfast there was a nice positive 'vibe' coming from you which usually makes interaction with staff easier and more pleasant.

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Trident Hotel before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    336
    144
    50
    23
See reviews for
165
504
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Was on a stag weekend from 27th to 29th of jan. Had a brilliant weekend, the hotel was fabulous and the food was superb. The staff were very friendly and more than helpfull. this hotel made our weekend epic and one to remember.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Stevie 1983,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Trident for the stag weekend. Your praise for the hotel, food and staff are very welcome.

The mention of a stag sometimes rings alarm bells but your group enjoyed themselves and still there was a very positive 'vibe' back from our staff, proving that a stag can still enjoy themselves without upsetting others - thank you for that!

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish Girl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went to the Trident in Kinsale recently and it does what it's suppose to do.... supplies you with B&B which were both fine, well single beds but clean and tidy and really was grand but no bit of luxury about it, I wouldn't consider it 4 star. It's a great base in Kinsale which is a gorgeous town and so nice for one town to have such good seafood! we ate in the hotel bar on arrival which was surprisingly lovely, fishy fishy - devine and the Spainard such a great pub. Our package included one evening meal in the hotel which was quite disappointing, considering how nice the food was in the bar was.... I would recommend for the location in Kinsale which is such a great town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGirlAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear IrishGirlAdvisor,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I'm sorry that the Trident didn't tick all the boxes for you, but maybe we could offer you another type of room if you chose to stay with us again. I gather that you may have got a Twin room instead of a Double which would normally be no trouble to change.

I'm glad that you enjoyed Kinsale and found the Trident to be satisfactory and hopefully you will decide to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here with my wife from 16th to 20th Jan 2012. Room was perfect , overlooking the sea. Spotlessly clean. Had Breakfast and dinner, food superb and service excellent. Very friendly staff. Will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimerickDh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear LimerickDh2008,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

We very much appreciate your accolade of "Fantastic Hotel"! You obviously enjoyed yourselves and found our rooms, food, service and staff to be of a high standard for which we are delighted.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
380 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here last weekend and as we arrived early Saturday we were up graded to a full sea view room which was lovely and spacious and had a great view.

The hotel receptionists were very friendly, the hotel was clean and modern, has parking, breakfast was delicious with good choice and it is at the edge of the town so perfect location. There is free wifi but the connection wasnt great in our room on the 3rd floor.

It would appear guests can use the leisure facilities in Actons Hotel (very close by). This wasnt clear from the website when booking. The hotel has a lovely bar too with lovely views and veranda for sunny days.

Would highly recommend. One thing to be aware of is the clear up from breakfast at 10:30 so arriving to breakfast at 10:25 wouldnt be ideal as everything gets cleared away.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear simongb,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I very much appreciate you high recommendation of the Trident and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I am sorry that you had some difficulty with the wifi in your room, we do have coverage in all our public areas and in most of our bedrooms but occasionally there may be some difficulties in certain rooms with some appliances, in that case we can offer wired broadband from all rooms.

I hope that you will have to opportunity to visit Kinsale and the Trident hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
3.7 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
895 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
0.6 km away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
315 reviews
0.6 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#14 of 53 in Kinsale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,880 - ₹ 13,302
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing