We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Grand....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trident Hotel Kinsale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Irish Girl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grand....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went to the Trident in Kinsale recently and it does what it's suppose to do.... supplies you with B&B which were both fine, well single beds but clean and tidy and really was grand but no bit of luxury about it, I wouldn't consider it 4 star. It's a great base in Kinsale which is a gorgeous town and so nice for one town to have such good seafood! we ate in the hotel bar on arrival which was surprisingly lovely, fishy fishy - devine and the Spainard such a great pub. Our package included one evening meal in the hotel which was quite disappointing, considering how nice the food was in the bar was.... I would recommend for the location in Kinsale which is such a great town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGirlAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear IrishGirlAdvisor,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

I'm sorry that the Trident didn't tick all the boxes for you, but maybe we could offer you another type of room if you chose to stay with us again. I gather that you may have got a Twin room instead of a Double which would normally be no trouble to change.

I'm glad that you enjoyed Kinsale and found the Trident to be satisfactory and hopefully you will decide to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    317
    141
    48
    23
See reviews for
155
465
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here with my wife from 16th to 20th Jan 2012. Room was perfect , overlooking the sea. Spotlessly clean. Had Breakfast and dinner, food superb and service excellent. Very friendly staff. Will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimerickDh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear LimerickDh2008,

Thank you for your review of the Trident Hotel.

We very much appreciate your accolade of "Fantastic Hotel"! You obviously enjoyed yourselves and found our rooms, food, service and staff to be of a high standard for which we are delighted.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
325 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here last weekend and as we arrived early Saturday we were up graded to a full sea view room which was lovely and spacious and had a great view.

The hotel receptionists were very friendly, the hotel was clean and modern, has parking, breakfast was delicious with good choice and it is at the edge of the town so perfect location. There is free wifi but the connection wasnt great in our room on the 3rd floor.

It would appear guests can use the leisure facilities in Actons Hotel (very close by). This wasnt clear from the website when booking. The hotel has a lovely bar too with lovely views and veranda for sunny days.

Would highly recommend. One thing to be aware of is the clear up from breakfast at 10:30 so arriving to breakfast at 10:25 wouldnt be ideal as everything gets cleared away.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear simongb,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I very much appreciate you high recommendation of the Trident and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I am sorry that you had some difficulty with the wifi in your room, we do have coverage in all our public areas and in most of our bedrooms but occasionally there may be some difficulties in certain rooms with some appliances, in that case we can offer wired broadband from all rooms.

I hope that you will have to opportunity to visit Kinsale and the Trident hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is a wonderful hotel located right there at the end of the town.
We had a very nice room on the top floor with a magnificent view of Kinsale bay
Great food in the restaurant and a very lively bar with a great atmosphere.
If I come back to Ireland, the Trident will be on my route!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travbug82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear travbug82,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

I am delighted that you found your experience 'wonderful' and I hope that you will return to Ireland and the Trident Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

This hotel was wonderful. The view from every room is the harbor. The rooms are very nice and the restaurant wonderful. The staff was also very friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHCMcE, General Manager at Trident Hotel Kinsale, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Marjorie L,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trident Hotel.

Your comments about - the room, the view, the restaurant and the staff are all very welcome.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back before too long.

Kind regards,

Hal McElroy
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
Old Bank House
#15 of 54 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Property: Trident Hotel Kinsale
Address: World's End, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,939 - ₹ 9,180
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, spectacularly perched on the water's edge overlooking Kinsale Harbour. The hotel has 75 bedrooms including an Executive Wing comprising 30 rooms and 9 luxury suites, all with beautiful sea views. Only five minutes’ walk from the centre of Kinsale, the Trident Hotel is an excellent base to explore the winding streets and many shops, cafes, galleries and restaurants for which Kinsale is famous for. While you’re here, why not delve into the town’s fascinating historic past with a guided walking tour to famous sights including Charles Fort or engage in the wide variety of activities available from deep-sea fishing to scenic harbour cruising. Or use Kinsale as your base for exploring the wider West Cork region, renowned for its rugged landscape, unspoiled coastline and bustling towns. For shopaholics, Cork City is just a 30-minute drive from Kinsale. With a host of attractions and leisure activities on the doorstep – including the world-renowned Old Head Golf Links – the Trident Hotel Kinsale is certainly an ideal venue for both business and pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing