We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful harbour view.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Compass Hill House

The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
The entrance hall. The first floor living room in the day-time.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
The entrance hall.
The first floor living room in the day-time.
The pink Garden Bedroom (triple) ideal for kids.
Garden view from the pink room.
Old world kitchen: up-to-date living.
The first floor living room in the evening.
A collection of shells.
The bright, airy landing looking at yellow room.
The short corridor outside the twin bedroom.
The Ground Floor sitting room.
Late May in the garden seen from the BBQ area.
Early June in the garden with Laburnum in full bloom.
Compass Hill House at the top of St John's Hill.
A view over the harbour from in front of the house.
Harbour view from the living room.
A view from Summercove out to sea.
Harvest time around Kinsale.
Miaow! Find Leo in the Garden...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob K
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful harbour view.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

House felt very welcoming. Beautiful position in the lovely town of Kinsale. The house offered plenty of room for our extended family group to socialise together whilst giving a measure of independence, when required, for the wide age range of three generations. The position is excellent providing stunning views over the harbour and towards the forts and is within a few minutes walk of the shops and restaurants.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thanks for the nice review - you are welcome to stay again anytime. If you do return, you can avail of the 10% returnee's discount.
All the best for the remainder of your summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeirdreKa...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Kinsale accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Compass Hill house is an excellent place to rent for an extended stay in Kinsale. The house is perched above the town with a lovely view of the harbor from many of the rooms. It is a quick walk to downtown and accessible to a scenic walk around Compass Hill. The house is very honey and the beds very comfortable. Given we were multiple families coming together for a holiday we appreciated the variety in bedrooms - queen beds, singles, even a crib. The kitchen had everything we needed for having family dinners and the yard in the back was ideal for relaxing in the evening and BBQing. Marie-Lousie was extremely helpful and accommodating before the reservation and while we were there. We loved our stay in the Compass Hill house. We would love the opportunity to stay in this great house again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
Thanks for the very nice words. We are pleased that everything worked out OK for you and that you found the house comfortable and enjoyable. Feel free to contact us again for future bookings, when, as you are returning, you will receive a 10% discount.
All the best,

ML
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjmalkin
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house in a great location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just come back from a great week in Compass Hill House Kinsale. this is a clean well equipt house with everything we could have needed and just a short walk in to the centre of kinsale where there were enough pubs bars restarants and cafes to keep everyone happy. We will deffinatly go back and would reccomend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great space
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Thank you for such a nice review - you are, of course, welcome to return anytime! Plus, you get a discount for coming back. ML
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legacy196...
New York City, New York
1 review
“The Compass Hill House is a lovely vacation home and I highly recommend it!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My family of four and friends with two sons stayed at the Compass Hill House recently for Easter Weekend. We were thrilled with the location of the home and were extremely happy with the large space that the home supplied. There are more than enough bedrooms and bathrooms to accomodate two families. The two parlors also gave us plenty of space to stretch out and convene after a long day traveling and sight seeing. Very clean home with a ton of charm that I highly recommend for your vacation to Ireland and the Cork/Kinsale region.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Compass Hill House in Kinsale. You and your family and friends are very welcome to stay with us again; we love to host guests who appreciate the charms that are to be found in a period property. You qualify for a discount too, as you would be returning to us!

Marie-Louise & Marcus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimSavage...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013

It's rather difficult to review perfection without it sounding implausible but truly Compass Hill House is an absolute gem.
Sitting atop the unbelievably charming town of Kinsale it cuts an imposingly elegant figure. The view alone from its'
front door to the Historic Town hall across the street, on down to the manicured Bowling Green above the renowned Kinsale Yacht Club is almost enough of a reason to stay until crossing the threshold one is whisked into a world of classic comfort. A ground floor apartment with a double bedroom, living room with fireplace, a large eat in kitchen and comfortable full bathroom was absolutely perfect for my elderly parents who like to spend quieter time in the evenings. A parking space directly in front eased any luggage or shopping needs. Upstairs a second large eat in kitchen with every necessity for large scale dining and exit to the large rear garden with BBQ is a delight. Adjacent a huge formal living room again with fireplace, plus TV and an iPhone music dock is the essence of comfort with beautiful period furniture, artwork and view of sail filled Kinsale harbor through its quintessential bay window is perfect for leisurely afternoons, evening cocktails or a night in front of the fire watching a dvd. Plenty of traditional board games will keep kids amused far from the maddening web although wifi is available.The house is old, late 1700s, but beautifully maintained, light and airy, and not lacking in any creature comforts including heaters in each of the bedrooms and further two bathrooms that pepper the top two floors. Our hosts though we never met were beyond gracious by phone and email and helpful in their recommendations for dining around Kinsale town, true to it's title of Irelands Gastronomic Capital. Whether it's lounging by the bay window or basking in adirondack style chairs in the sun filled apple treed garden, whether taking the tourist trail to the multitude of nearby historical sites or just going off for a morning stroll along beautiful walks directly adjacent is a marvelous respite and perfect base for friends and family to really appreciate any time one should spend there. Being half an hour from Cork city with reasonable bus service ensures you're never at a loss for things to do even if the weather is unaccommodating. Would we recommend it to our dearest friends and would we be pleased to return there again? A very emphatic Yes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thanks for the glowing review! Thank you too for adding in those three charming pictures for other tripadvisors to see - we couldn't have done better ourselves. It was a real pleasure to see the wedding dress laid out on the bed too! Tanti auguri a voi....

Marie-Louise & Marcus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing