We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Highs, but Low Lows”
Review of Ashgrove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashgrove B&B
Ranked #26 of 53 Kinsale B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High Highs, but Low Lows”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at Ashgrove B&B for one night in early August. It is a Bungalow style B&B, with all bedrooms on the ground floor.

Pros: Ashgrove had one of the biggest rooms and bed of all the B&Bs where we stayed in our 9-day trip to Ireland and had lots of outlets! It seemed a very contemporary and clean, hotel-level accommodation. Wireless was available without a password, so getting online was a breeze. It's close to downtown, up on a hill, so there was a pretty view at breakfast even with the seaside fog rolling in. Breakfast was EXCELLENT! Delicious, well prepared and beautifully presented.

Cons: This B&B was quite difficult to find, even with directions. We finally had to call the B&B, even with a GPS and after consulting our mobile phone apps. (TIP: Ireland B&Bs rarely have addresses, so GPS users should be given the Kinsale Further Education College location, which is right across the street from Ashgrove.) Honestly, our shower experience was dismal: the water pressure was terrible, and the water never got hot, just lukewarm; even that only lasted a few minutes before getting ice cold. I had to shave my legs in the sink! :( Unlike other B&Bs, we were TOLD when breakfast was (7:30 to 8:30), not asked when we would like to have it, and oddly, all the guests in the breakfast room were whispering during breakfast, and the staff moved busily and almost silently. All of this led to quite a formal breakfast experience – though the meals we had were outstanding. Our host was polite enough, but not friendly, esp. by comparison to other B&B hosts. She wasn't there to greet us upon arrival (though one of her assistants was), and didn't say much the next morning at breakfast. In fact, when I turned in our voucher after breakfast, I apologized for giving it to her morning of our departure, as she hadn’t been in when we arrived. She replied crisply: “That’s correct, I was not.” We couldn’t find anyone to alert we were leaving, so we just left after signing the guest book in the front hall.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very quiet but poor water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Kinsale is a great spot on the coast and although a little difficult to find Ashgrove was a positive experience for us. Margaret greeted us and the room was clean and spacious, the bed comfortable. Advice on various options of where to eat was well received and proved accurate. The best part of the stay was the breakfast, very generous and fresh in the breakfast room with a lovely view over the harbor. We would be happy to return both to Kinsale and Ashgrove.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our one night at Ashgrove in Kinsale was mostly uneventful. No one was at the place when we arrived midafternoon, so we walked into town for awhile. Margaret had a helper who greeted us later. The room was fine, though I concur on the low water pressure comment. The breakfast was very good and in a nice sunny room. We found Margaret nice, if reserved. Not uncommon in these parts. Kinsale center is a brief walk downhill, but that is what makes Ashgrove appealing. It's not in Kinsale's busy center.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CABozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The B&B was a little difficult to find and off the beaten path. It's a bit outside the city center. The view from the breakfast table was awesome however and the breakfast was one of the best we have had in Ireland so far. Fruit, yogurt, egg, ham, toast, sausage and tomato. Not to mention the orange juice and coffee. Very yummy!

The hostess was nice as well.

Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSportschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridderkerk
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

- Nice, warm and careful owner
- Great rooms and good en-suite
- Good breakfast in first class breakfast room
- Kinsale is a very nice harbour place to walk around

Room Tip: I should go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvdrdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.4 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
675 reviews
4.4 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
The K Kinsale
The K Kinsale
#30 of 53 in Kinsale
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Harbour Hill Farm
Harbour Hill Farm
#9 of 53 in Kinsale
194 reviews
0.6 km away
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
Danabel Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 53 in Kinsale
86 reviews
0.5 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#13 of 53 in Kinsale
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove B&B

Property: Ashgrove B&B
Address: Ashgrove Bandon Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kinsale
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing