We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great experience, but......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longueville House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Longueville House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overall great experience, but......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Recently dined with my wife at this wonderful hotel and decided to stay overnight. January is obviously a quiet time of the year for this hotel but the peace and quiet and having this wonderful 18th Century country house all to ourselves made only to enhance the experience. The food was first class and truly 5****. The accommodation was also good but more 4****. The open fire in the sitting room and the atmosphere was fantastic but what truly impressed us were the staff, especially Gabor - this man is an asset to any hotel and at the top of his game. My wife and I love older type houses and would recommend this place for a night out with fine dining or a romantic weekend but not really suitable for children because the peace and quiet of the place is one of its pleasures - no TV! The walks around the grounds were a little disappointing and need a little more maintenance and signing, good job we brought our wellington boots with us. If you like the countryside, fine foods and want to dream a little, this may well be for you. It not cheap but at the same time its not silly prices. It up to you whether you want to try the finer wines and champaign but you will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOOCONN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    34
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
59
86
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Excellent hotel
Excellent staff, best customer service experence in Ireland
Food was just amazing so fresh and full of natural flavour and very well presented.
Service was amazing we felt like we were the only customers in the room, such attention to detail.
The breakfast was the best we had in any hotel - it was amazing

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

excellent house and grounds - loved the walk around. Maybe November'itis but no-one available to advise of walking route.

The Hotel room is best booked via blue rooms with dinner booked seperately as our combined 'offer' of 1 Night BB + dinner was more expensive than seperate bookings.....very frustrating.

Also watch the bill and tally as cusory maths are missing from the staff - perhaps they are too used to taking several 100's of euros and dont bother learning their own prices. We needed to correct then twice. The only staff available on checkout was a very junior waitress and lacked in confidence - despite asking for 370 euro for a one night stay.

Drawing room and Dining room service was excellent and food very good - a nice meal with very good ingredients indeed. Scones are a pleasure, as is the cider.

We would stay again but with no recent awards this house-hotel may be trading on better days and are taking their eye off the ball & detail.

Room Tip: The House is old and our room was very draughty - We expect that from a period house but we opted fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I have driven by Longueville House many times. We finally found an opportunity to spend a night. We attended there mushroom hunting weekend. And it was magic.

The house and grounds are all you could expect and more. Large, gracious and comfortable drawing rooms and dining rooms. Afternoon tea mad us feel like we had returned to a bygone era. The food and service were excellent.

Our room was magnificent, Twice as large as most hotel rooms with a wonderful view of the Black Water Valley. Rolling green fields with horses and mountains. It could have been a movie set. A lovely bathroom with an oversized tub for my wife and a great shower for me. Adult level sink and a table to set our gear on...something sadly lacking in many other hotels.

Dinner and breakfast were perfect. The food is really exceptional. Aisling O'Callaghan, the owner took the time to welcome us to her home and we were impressed with her warmth and that of of all the staff.

If you can find a way to visit Longueville House, do it.



We are already thinking abou

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandTourist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I are just back and enjoyed a fabulous stay at Longueville House from start to finish. We also had our 22mth old daughter with us who was most welcome despite the fact that her little paws could be potentially damaging to all the lovely soft furnishings! We were made to feel 110% welcome....we even had one of the reception rooms to ourselves which meant our daughter could watch some TV and we could all relax without worrying about a toddler disturbing other people's experience. The house itself is really beautiful, a very relaxing place. The owners and staff could honestly not be any more friendly or accomodating, we were blown away. The place has a real sense of grandeur and homeliness without the "pomp" that some places of this standard often have. The food was spectacular, a real treat. The grounds are perfect for long relaxing walks. We will be back soon, very soon I hope.

Room Tip: We upgraded to suite as we had the little one with us....well worth it. The bathroom was big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz_d1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallow
0.0 km away
Springfort Hall Country House
0.0 km away
The Hibernian Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.0 km away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale
0.0 km away
Killeen House
Killeen House
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.0 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville House Hotel

Property: Longueville House Hotel
Address: Killarney road (N72), Mallow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,491 - ₹ 16,382
Hotel Class:4 star — Longueville House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Longueville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Hotel Mallow
Longueville Mallow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing