We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest House beside the forest”
Review of Lough Key House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lough Key House
Ranked #1 of 8 Boyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Guest House beside the forest”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We travelled to here to see Carrick-on Shannon. the rooms were a good size and the owner very helpful. Breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs romm, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jims65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    5
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
73
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

myself and my partner have had the most relaxing weekend at lough key hse. food was fab. surrounding was fab. i dont think ud get the care and srevice in any hotel in this country,frances the owner is at hand at any time,and is mighty crack

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

"The moment We saw Lough Key House We Sensed something very Extraordinary. Our "42nd" Wedding Anniversary was to be Celebrated someplace Sacred and as We were on Our 1rst trip to Ireland..."Winging It"...had booked only 2 days before by phone. Our arrival was on October 25th 2011 for a 2 night stay and as usual We arrived very early. Frances was Most Gracious and immediately had Sensed Her as a very Special Woman. Her Heart is articulated EVERYWHERE and Her Knowing of Symmetry and Beauty is Impeccable. There is a portrait of the Mother & Child in the Front Sitting room that Emanates Tenacity & Strength of Pure Love...it is a Favorite of Frances' & She very kindly told Us the story behind it & its' Importance in Her Home. The rooms are Royal & Lush...the Breakfast delicious & the Ambience takes Ones' breath away! Frances feels to Me as an EarthAngel...Guardian of the Lough Key Forrest...as Lough Key House sits right beside this Special Place. Lough Key House is a Sparkling Jewel strategically placed for All to receive Sumptuous Experieinces and Frances is the Heart & Breath of It All!!! Eternal Blessings Frances, on all that You set Your Heart & Hand to..."
Love Always & Forever,
L.A.A.F.
Pat Timmermans...Purveyor of "Endless Possibilities!"

Room Tip: "All are Very Special..."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Seems like an outlandish statement, but it's true. The house is beautiful. The room (the Red room) was sumptuous, with it's gorgeous, enormous four poster bed and roll top bath. The breakfast was really mouthwatering (the home made ginger and rhubarb jam was *particularly* lovely). By far the best part of the stay however was the warm and very friendly service given by Frances. Exactly the right mix of professionalism and courtesy, helpfulness and local knowledge that'll have us coming back any time we're in the area. I really can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: The Red room seemed to be the most sumptuous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadmcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My Wife and I and our 2 girls (8 and 10) stayed in this wonderful B&B and it was absolutely fabulous from the great warm hospitality from start to finish. Frances greeted each of us to her beautiful house by name from our initial booking and we were shown into the drawing room and enjoyed tea and biscuits in front of a roaring fire to welcome us. The kids loved the dogs Buttercup and Gwen and Frances showed us where the two Donkeys, Horses and sheep were grazing in the back field who duly trotted over for the kids to pet them. It is a perfect location for visiting the adjacent Lough Key Forest Park and we had two great days at Boda Borg and Zipit. Breakfast was another real treat with open fire blazing and breakfasts cooked to order with homemade brown bread and jams just some of the lovely treats available. Congratulations to Frances and Emily and co and we would echo all the positives in the other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyle
38.7 km away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
12.1 km away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 km away
Forest Park House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Cesh Corran
Cesh Corran
#6 of 8 in Boyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.9 km away
Rosdarrig Bed & Breakfast
3.6 km away
Linsfort Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Key House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Key House

Property: Lough Key House
Address: Carrick Road (N4), Boyle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Boyle
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,136 - ₹ 10,528
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Key House is a small but pleasing Georgian period house located next to the main entrance of the beautiful Lough Key Forest Park. It has 6 bedrooms in total: 3 rather grand & 3 more modest in the back of the house. All for the enjoyment of guests and also provides a sumptuous feast as breakfast: a generous buffet of fruits and cereals as well as fresh herb omelettes or eggs scrambled with smoked salmon. It is beautifully decorated and furnished and the welcome is genuinely as warm as the open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lough Key House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Key House Hotel Boyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing