We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here last weekend for my birthday. Checked in at 3pm so the room was ready. Checkin staff member whose name I think was Padraig was very nice and pleasant and told us about a special prommotion goingon in the town that night. Room was clean and fresh and a small sea view. Slept well that night however my husband founf it a bit noisy as he could hear people coming in quite late but it was a saturday night so that didnt bother me...wellIdidnt hear it anyways!! Shower was excellent..great power and the shower gel was nice..No shampoo and conditioner but Id brought my own anyways. Loads of nice clean towels which was good.. Breakfast however wasnt great if Im honest. What can I say other than it just wasnt tasty. I could tell that the product being cooked was cheap. Your getting a cheap deal staying here but if i had the option to stay again Id stay roomonly and go out for breakfast somewhere else.. Overall you get what you pay for...room was great for an overnight stay..comfortable and clean...jut the breakfast that let the hotel down..

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View or one away from the street so you wont be botheres about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    92
    58
    52
    92
See reviews for
96
138
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co Donegal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I will never set foot in this hotel again. I should have known from when I initially rang to check out their facilities, they were quoting 40 euro more than what was coming up on their website. We had booked for 2 nights B & B however they also charged extra for breakfast for my 5 yr old daughter even though she didn't have any. I have stayed in a lot of hotels on family breaks and have never been charged for a kids breakfast when the child didn't have any, these guys make it up as they go along. My advice would be to steer clear, however if you have no choice make sure you know exactly what you are being charged for. Breakfast was poor, shower stuck on boiling hot so I couldn't stand under it. Draft coming in our window which would be very cold during Winter. Male receptionist defensive and not great customer service skills. The only positive was that our waitress for dinner was so nice and very good at her job.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxinDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShielaMcGrath, Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Firstly as explained to you, the rate online was a room only rate. When you rang the hotel you chose a bed & breakfast package. You were also advised that children stay free of charge, paying for meals. On checkout the reservation agent you had booked with was on duty to speak with you regarding the agreed rate. A Child's full Irish Breakfast is only €5 per child but continental Breakfast is included in the rate (Tea/Toast/Cereal). Our Male Receptionist has had many compliments on his excellent customer service skills he previously trained many Hotel staff throughout Ireland in Customer Service. If you wish to discuss this further please contact us directly and we shall endeavour to assist you. Apologies for your stay not meeting your expectations, Kind Regards, Grand Central Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here for the Sea Sessions festival this year. It was also a friends stag weekend. Have to say I thought it was great. The festival was less than 5 minutes walk away, so you could head back to the hotel for food or a drink at any time if you wanted. The room was nice and clean. When you're used to going to festivals and sleeping in a tent this room seemed like heaven. There was about 20 of us on this stag and we are all in our mid thirties so it's not like we were going ape in the place or anything. But the staff we very accommodating to us even when some members of the party got "a bit excited" in the early hours. We ate in the bar every day and it was great. To be honest it was a great hotel for a lads weekend away but I would say that it might be a bit lively for families/elderly people. Oh and thanks to I think the girls name was Sonia for putting up with us for the weekend. See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

booked double room, the room was clean, struggled to get the window open, very very old, they could do with gettin some new ones in, re decorating rooms as it is very old school. The food in the bar was nice, but the roof had a leak we had to move tables as the was a constant drip coming through the ceiling. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough as regards making sure everything was okay. Nothing much to do in the place, no music so we went down the street to great lively bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMEDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn n. ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

stayed here a while back and booked a family room , . The room we got was at the back of the hotel and had an adjoining room with 2 single beds the main room was very spacious and had a double bed at one end and a table and chairs and a settee , we also had a sea view the food served in the bar was very good and well priced to compete with all the other eating places in bundoran , would go back again only downside is they dont have a swimming pool but you can use the other hotels in the area for a small fee.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohnnyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.6 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,038 reviews
0.1 km away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
362 reviews
0.1 km away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
591 reviews
22.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
760 reviews
26.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,982 - ₹ 7,548
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing