We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll be back !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allingham Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

myself and my wife stayed in the Allingham Arms hotel in Bundoran on Saturday 31st March having booked on-line. The staff were excellent and made us very welcome....such a lovely homely atmosphere. There was a problem with the shower in our room on arrival but we were allocated another room without delay. We booked in for dinner in the restaurant that evening and we were given a complimentary drink with our meal...when we were checking out on Sunday morning we were told that next time we stay there we will be upgraded to a deluxe room. That's what makes this hotel so good.....nice little touches with no fuss... the food in the restaurant was a tasty bite as was breakfast....we will definitely be back there soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JJMFintona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear JJMFintona,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It's always great to receive feedback from guests. I am pleased to read that the problem with the shower was addressed promptly and you were allocated another room. I will ensure that I pass your kind comments on to our staff members and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

For the bank holiday weekend me and my partner decided to go to Bundoran for the night. On check in at the Alligham Arms we asked for a delux room with a sea view. When we arrived to the room it was evident that the room had not been cleaned from the night before. I thought to myself well they must have made a mistake, so we went back to reception and asked for another room. The girl on reception apologised and said for us to have a seat while she got someone to check the room. The receptionist again apologised and said for us to go to another room and to follow the porter to the room. When entering the second room i noticed at first hand that it still wasn't overly clean, i then pulled back the duvet to see that the bed had been slept in and the pillow all false tran. I went into the bathroom and again it was disgusting. This time i was very angry and arrived back to reception to tell the receptionist and was even more disappointed that the porter had been in the room and checked it was ok for us. The receptionist again apologised and rang housekeeping to find out why they were not clean. I give the receptionist the benefit of the doubt and said we would come back in an hour (already 5pm) to give them a chance to clean the room.The receptionist then explained to us that all the housekeepers were away home and there was no clean rooms for us to stay in. We then got a refund and booked into another hotel. In my opinion considerable work needs to be done in the area of cleanliness and customer service. Will never be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gemma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear gemma k,

Thank you for your review, I noticed that this was your first review on trip advisor, we also received your email on Wednesday 21st March. Firstly, please accept my apologies with regards to your recent experience at the hotel, there was clearly miscommunication between departments and unfortunately this resulted in you being shown up to deluxe rooms that hadn't been serviced. As you didn't have a prior reservation, our receptionist tried her best to accommodate you (having walked in off the street on one of the busiest weekends of the year) Whilst trying her best to resolve the situation she offered you refreshments which you declined. When the second room was not up to the standard that it should have been, which I apologise for, you returned to reception and at this point the receptionist on duty offered you a standard bedroom (not seaview) but you declined, got a full refund and left. The receptionist recalls you mentioning that you couldn't wait any longer as you were meeting up with somebody and that you would seek alternative accommodation elsewhere. Extra staff were called in and these rooms were serviced and available within an hour. I fully accept responsibility for your unfortunate experience at the hotel and can only apologise and assure you that this is not a situation that has occured before and we have taken precautions to ensure it doesn't happen again. I am however dissappointed that you have chosen to rate us 'terrible' for Sleep Quality, Value for money, Rooms and Service when you didn't stay at the hotel. This is an unfair reflection of the establishment, as a family run hotel we always go the extra mile for each and every guest and I fully trust that the receptionist on duty did this for you also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My father and myself went to this wonderful hotel for one night and enjoy a short break.
The hotel management should be totally grateful to the profeshionalism and effort that every member of staff made for us. From the first moment we approached reception to the last words spoken to the reception. The hotel was great in every aspect from the bedrooms to the food in the dinning rooms.. Working in the hospitality trade it is good to see.
The entertainment was first class and went on late into the night.
I have already booked to go back in June to celebrate my anivesery with the "boss"
5*
Thank you.......

Room Tip: The reception staff offer all the help you will ever need and advise you on the correct choice of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatsdelight25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are always delighted to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Gorgeous new hotel in the town but just off the main street so nice and quiet. We stayed here for the Sea Sessions Festival last summer and it couldn't have been more ideal. Just across the road from the beach and a short stroll from the main street. Meals were lovely and bar was a great spot for the music! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your review. Sea Sessions is a fantastic festival in Bundoran and is growing each year, we hope to see you back again this year. We are once again offering a fantastic rate including bed and breakfast and ticket to the festival. We look forward to welcoming you back & thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

John Kathleem Sean and Margaret had an exceptional experience from time of booking until checkout. Great staff all so friendly,welcoming helpful and pleasant, Great value for two nights B&B evening meal and tickets to show. Hotel clean warm and cosy spacious bedrooms. Good food and drink, great entertainment on Friday and Saturday night, Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Book de luxe rooms with sea view. What a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.3 km away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
1,196 reviews
0.6 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,019 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
159 reviews
9.2 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
610 reviews
26.8 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allingham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allingham Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range: ₹ 6,728 - ₹ 12,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Allingham Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Allingham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allingham Bundoran
Allingham Arms Bundoran Hotel
Hotel Allingham Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing