We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveller rating
487
223
195
153
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
223
195
153
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course leisure centre old world bar food old style porridge public areas fantastic weekend lovely room evening meal kids club sea view both nights from start to finish my mother weekend break family room
Filter
Updating list...
556 - 561 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2015

We recently stayed for four nights on a music long weekend, the staff were very nice, and the bed was quite comfortable, it was just the room, our window opened onto another room window, so you had to keep the curtains closed most of the time, and the layout of the room was not great, the wardrobe was in the wrong place up against the beside draw, so that could not be opened, the tv was high on the wall but fairly small, the breakfast was good, but catering for such a large crowd at night the dinner was not the best, vegetables were rawish broccoli and carrots and if you were vegetarian it was vegetable lasagne every night..no imagination there, I would stay again but not in room 119 or the next few rooms odd numbers.To be fair some of our party did have lovely rooms, so upgrade if you can.Dining room staff and all staff were very good and helpful.Have to admit the location is stunning.

Room tip: dont stay in room 119
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheYoungOnes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

This trip was to celebrate the 80th Birthday of my mother-in-law, and right from the start the service we received from everyone at the Great Northern was first class. It was also our first trip to a hotel with our baby son who is almost 5 months and he had a wonderful time. Everyone was so accommodating and he loved looking around him and smiling at the other guests at breakfast and dinner. Sarah, the Reservations Manager could not have been more helpful with our initial enquiry and the booking process and followed through on her promise to allocate a room for the in-laws with a lovely view of the bay. Caoimhe at Front Desk greeted us on arrival, and she is a real asset to the team, getting us checked in efficiently and helping explain our dining options for our stay. We ate in the Bar on the first night of our stay, and the food was great as was the friendly service from the barman on duty on the night of 22nd April. Breakfast was excellent each day in the lovely bright dining room, with the Pancake maker a particular favourite. We also ate in the main restaurant on our second night and really enjoyed the quality and presentation of the food. The service was also excellent, as we found throughout our stay. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and Housekeeping staff ensured that we were comfortable. We were really lucky with the weather, it was just beautiful and made our trip even more enjoyable. All-in-all it was a lovely couple of nights away, in a very comfortable and relaxed environment and our thanks go to Sarah, Caoimhe and all of their colleagues at the Great Northern for making our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ulstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2015

we stayed here for two nights mon 20th to wed 22nd April and really enjoyed our stay. Jack greeted us on reception when we arrived and was very welcoming and very informative, hotel is old fashioned but clean and very cosy. we had beautiful weather and enjoyed the fantastic setting on the Tuesday. we went out on Tuesday evening and didn't get back in time for our evening meal, however "martina" on reception did everything to accommodate us and made talked to the kitchen who were very good to make up some sandwiches for us, it is touches like this that make this hotel special, thank you to everyone at Great Northern for making our stay so special, also a mention needs to go to "Siobhan" who provides a fantastic service,I got an Indian head massage and back massage, and felt so relaxed afterwards, thank you! thank you to everyone at the great Northern

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katrina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

Great views! But I walk a lot. Kids had a great time , hotel have vintage style yet modern , room large and clean , staff help me greatly , so friendly, would love to go back and stay there again, a bargain

P S don't walk around the shore line in one trip , go one direction one day & other direction the next

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank libermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Just back from a fabulous weekend at this hotel. The staff were amazing, nothing and I mean absolutely nothing was too much trouble to them, they are to be commended on their customer care, The food was fabulous and had a great value for money 4 course carvery. Great venue all round set on a magnificent golf course with stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean and Irish coastline and within walking distance to town centre. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank jillelinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews