We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not a bad spot at all - but know what you want” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavangarden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyshannon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cavangarden House
Ranked #4 of 11 Ballyshannon B&B and Inns
Wicklow, IE
Level Contributor
213 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“not a bad spot at all - but know what you want”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Very nice woman who welcomes us back everytime. This is an older house up a lovely drive in a lovely part of the country. Its very good value and if its what you are looking for, then you will be happy. The lady takes the trouble to check with us what we want for breaksfast in the morning and when we come down its freshly cooked for us. Sure its an old house so enjoy it for what it is, it is really quiet and far enough away from the road not to hear any noise. I will stay again a\s its really well located and what you see is what you get.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derry, nothern ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2007

we booked to stay here over night as we had a feis in ballyshannon and didnt fancy the drive up from derry as the kids were dancing at 8. when we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome and led to our room.

the room was quite big, with a nice, clean bathroom and tv. we had 4 kids with us, and the room was laid out quite nicely to allow the kids to sleep while theadults were watchin tv,

mrs mc cafferty slipped a menu under the door to take orders for breakfast and you could specify the time u wanted it at.

breakfast was lovely, there was a bit of confusion over it but it was all sorted (my boyfriends writing wasnt the clearest) and the food was great.... food was ready for us just to come down at eat at 7oclock as we asked.

all in all had a lovely stay and would definately go back there in the future.

  • Liked — the room layout, we could keep an eye on the kids, but they were out of the way
  • Disliked — the didnt have brown sauce...
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

We travel to Ireland every year and always stay at Cavangarden House. The home is close to all the Donegal CO. attractions and also a close drive to Sligo to see sights there also. It is a wonderful older house situated nicely within the 380 acres they farm. Just the drive through the woods to the home transitions you from the hustle of the N15 to the peacefulness of the property. Breakfast is a nice selection of wonderfully prepared meals. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and filled with older furniture.
Agnes McCaffrey is a welcoming and accomodating hostess. Do not miss Cavangarden on your travels through Co Donegal.

  • Liked — The atmosphere the the hom
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2006

We visit Ireland yearly and stay at Cavangarden House every year. This home built in 1750 is beautiful and filled with antiques. The .5 km drive curves through woods and then opens up with a wonderful view of the house.
Mrs. McCaffrey is always welcoming. The rooms are spacious with bathrooms ensuite. All rooms are nicely decorated with TV and tea/coffee.
The choice of breakfast is very varied and delicious. We've tried them all.
When you go to Co. Donegal, stay at Cavangarden, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kathy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballyshannon hotels
0.8 km away
Dorrian's Imperial
Dorrian's Imperial
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.2 km away
Creevy Pier Hotel
Creevy Pier Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.0 km away
Mai Kelly bed & breakfast
Mai Kelly bed & breakfast
#2 of 11 in Ballyshannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Erne Manor B&B
Erne Manor B&B
#1 of 11 in Ballyshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.7 km away
Creevy Holiday Cottages
Creevy Holiday Cottages
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
182.0 km away
Dun Na Si Guesthouse
Dun Na Si Guesthouse
#3 of 4 in Ballyshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavangarden House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavangarden House

Property: Cavangarden House
Address: Donegal Road, Ballyshannon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyshannon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyshannon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cavangarden Hotel Ballyshannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing