We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreeable stay”
Review of Twin Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Twin Trees Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
GreenLeadersGold level
County Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Agreeable stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here recently and found the hotel to be very agreeable.The bedroom and en-suite was spotless, nicely decorated and bright&airy.Internet access was a little slow but serviceable.
The bar area was very quiet when visited but still exuded a lovely athmosphere, pity then to waste excellent workmanship on the bar counter which needed a refinishing job.
Lunch was tasty and offered good value for money. Staff were very friendly and professional, no problem recommending this hotel for a stop-over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    174
    57
    40
    33
See reviews for
173
195
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed in the Downhill House Hotel with my husband and two small children. It has a lovely setting with impressive views of beautiful landscaped gardens close to the town center so you can also wander down to Ballina town by foot. We had a very relaxing weekend. The kids club and video room kept our children occupied for much of the day and allowed us time to ourselves. There was a great breakfast. The children's meal time was great and made it easy to feed them. We were there during mid-term break and the kids club was running in the morning and in the evening. The evening sessions meant we could sit down to enjoy a meal together in peace. The staff were very friendly. All in all, it is a fantastic family destination.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck99, Director of Sales at Twin Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We love hearing from our guests and your kind comments will certainly help to boost our moral in midst of a busy season for the next few months.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the many facilities we had to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. We pride ourselves in looking after families, having two young children of my own, - Happy Children, means Happy Mum & Dad, our motto is "Let our Family Look after Yours" ...


With good wishes,
Rachael Moylett
Family Member & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

After reading reviews on this hotel i was expecting the worst, but i really dont know what some people expect from a hotel. This hotel was clean with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was warm and comfy. The hotel was quiet but it was the weekend before Easter. We ate in the bar and our meal was beautiful the best chunky chips i have ever eaten. A party leaving the hotel on saturday night were a bit noisy but that cant be helped. Husband was up early to go fishing and a bit early for breakfast but they sat him down and had a fry ready in no time. Our room 105 looked onto garden and early in the morning a pair of black birds sing at no extra charge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pallyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very professional staff. Really tasty food- both dinner and buffet lunch were exceptional. Lovely surrounding garden. Quirky hotel decor. Good-sized meeting room. Conference went off without a hitch!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights recently. The staff were really really friendly and helpful. We also had a evening meal and found that that was very tasty. We found the room and bathroom very comfortable. All in all we had a really enjoyable stay here and could not recommend this hotel highly enough. John and Sheila from Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abboards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
3.9 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.3 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
479 reviews
1.1 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
171 reviews
1.9 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#4 of 9 in Ballina
506 reviews
6.9 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Property: Twin Trees Hotel
Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,813 - ₹ 11,873
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing