We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Twin Trees Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Offaly
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

After reading reviews on this hotel i was expecting the worst, but i really dont know what some people expect from a hotel. This hotel was clean with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was warm and comfy. The hotel was quiet but it was the weekend before Easter. We ate in the bar and our meal was beautiful the best chunky chips i have ever eaten. A party leaving the hotel on saturday night were a bit noisy but that cant be helped. Husband was up early to go fishing and a bit early for breakfast but they sat him down and had a fry ready in no time. Our room 105 looked onto garden and early in the morning a pair of black birds sing at no extra charge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pallyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    153
    53
    35
    33
See reviews for
157
182
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very professional staff. Really tasty food- both dinner and buffet lunch were exceptional. Lovely surrounding garden. Quirky hotel decor. Good-sized meeting room. Conference went off without a hitch!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights recently. The staff were really really friendly and helpful. We also had a evening meal and found that that was very tasty. We found the room and bathroom very comfortable. All in all we had a really enjoyable stay here and could not recommend this hotel highly enough. John and Sheila from Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abboards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

On behalf of myself and my wife, I just want to say a big thank you to Karen and all the staff at the Downhill House Hotel for helping to make our wedding a wonderful occasion and so special for us. The whole day (and night) went really well and all the guests were highly impressed with the service, food, accommodation and overall ambience created for the day. From initial meetings and my numerous emails to the moment we arrived on the day we were made to feel exceptionally welcome, and it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble. The same high standard in service and hospitality was seen throughout the day, well into the night and right through to the next day where staff looked after us, our families and our guests so very well and we thank them for this. Their vast experience in the hospitality industry was clearly evident. The mature landscaped Gardens proved an excellent backdrop for our wedding photos and one of the many added bonuses of this hotel. We had an absolute ball and we are so pleased that we chose the Downhill House Hotel as our venue for our wedding reception, Many thanks again. Kieran & Basia, March 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KieranB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We went to this hotel for St Patrick's weekend. It was not a complete disaster but it could have been a lot better. Our main gripe was the cold as we were in a wing where it was cold and had to request the heating to be turned on. The hotel is a mixed bag of architecture where the original house has had bits and pieces added on over the years which does not lend itself to a cohesive building and as such we had to get the elevator to the first floor walk along a corridor through doors then down two flights of stairs along another corridor and eventually found our room. You could tell when the various bits were added on by the creaking of the floorboards. The food was mediocre but served by excellent staff from Indonesia, they were so friendly with us. This hotel is lucky to have them. We did not use the pool or gym because it looked very tired cold and uninviting. On another point we walked along the river that runs by the hotel and the amount of rubbish dumped along what could be a beautiful amenity is a disgrace to the local council. How is this country promoting tourism in these areas when these places are left like this? Shame on them.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the original part
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
3.9 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
1.3 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.1 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.5 km away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.3 km away
The Downhill Inn
The Downhill Inn
#9 of 9 in Ballina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Hotel

Property: Twin Trees Hotel
Address: Downhill Road, Ballina, Ireland (Formerly Downhill House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ballina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,880 - ₹ 8,305
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens near the banks of the River Moy in Ballina, Co. Mayo the Twin Trees Hotel (formallyDownhill House Hotel) is a family owned and managed hotel. The Moylett Family have been welcoming guests since 1936 and are proud of the excellent reputation the hotel has achieved over the years. Hospitality is a Mayo tradition and nowhere is the family tradition more honoured than at the newly renovated Twin Trees Hotel & Leisure Club (formally The Downhill House Hotel). With 55 comfortable bedrooms set in idyllic gardens within a 10 minute walk into Ballina town. Facilities include leisure Centre with indoor pool, Frogs Piano Bar, and excellent homemade locally sourced produce. Situated close to 3 golf links, Knock Shrine, 45 minute drive to Knock Airport. A long tradition of Irish Warmth & Hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Twin Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing