We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lodges - Great for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Falcon Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Falcon Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lodges - Great for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Lakeside lodges in Mount Falcon. We had a lovely holiday in a 3 bed lodge which was extremely comfortable, modern and very well fitted out. The kichen was equipped with dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster, oven and hob with plenty of cutlery, utensils and crockery etc. The utility room had a washing machine, iron and ironing board. All the bedrooms had double beds and were all ensuite. The Lodges look out onto a lovely lake with its own ducks and even 11 ducklings!! These were a great source of entertainment for our young children. We also used the pool which was just a nice size and even had a small paddling pool for toddlers.
The Hotel itself is very nice with an excellent restaurant. Breakfast was included in our 3 night rental and the hot breakfast was cook to order and of a very high standard. We did not have dinner in the restaurant but I had eaten there previously and had a lovely meal then also.
I would highly recommend the Lodges for families. The staff supplied roll away beds, a cot and highchair for our children. It was great to arrive after our journey and find all these things in place as per our reservation. Staff were extremely helpful and nothing was a problem.
All in all a great stay and I would love to return again in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcjjg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    153
    53
    30
    14
See reviews for
263
441
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My hustband and I so enjoyed our one night stay at Mount Falcon Estate...the setting is amazing! I booked a package online for one night stay in a deluxe room (original rooms of the house), 5 course dinner and breakfast.

The room was delightful...furnished in antiques, original marble fireplace, pine floors and shutters, amazing view of Moy Valley. Note: the toilet was troublesome to flush, the room was hot during our sleep and the noise from the reception, foyer and bar carries to the 1st floor rooms. We didn't have the best sleep although the bed was quite comfortable. There is not turn down service which we didn't mind. The 2 bottles of water in the room was nice. The large bath towels are exceptional and nice bath products.

Our dinner was out of this world! We chose the 5 course tasting and it did not disappoint. Our server chose wine pairings for each course per our request. Wonderful, wonderful dining experience in the original kitchen of the house. Our breakfast was lovely with a buffet and option to order from the menu.

We walked the grounds of the estate during the day...so lovey. Make sure you find the family gaveyard and tomb. We enjoyed a drink and a starter in the Boathole bar, in one of the original 'entertaining rooms' of the house. There are wonderful view of the grounds from the bar.

The service was excellent especially at the reception and the restaurant. Upon recommendation from reception we ventured to Enniscrone Beach on Sunday driving through the town of Ballina along the coast road. A wonderful ending to our stay at Mount Falcon!

Room Tip: The original rooms of the house (6) are lovely but there is a bit of noise from the reception, bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here again recently and had a really enjoyable time.

Our room although overlooking the car park was very pleasant but considerably cooler than the corridor and the rest of the hotel. However on our return an hour or so later the heat had come on and it was very comfortable from then on.

Dinner was booked for 7.30pm, our meal was absolutely fabulous and could not be faulted in any way...excellent service...top marks to all concerned, especially the chef's.
We had an after dinner drink in one of Mount Falcon's many intimate reception rooms where we chatted with other guests, warmed by a lovely open fire.

Breakfast was really nice too and the service was very friendly and efficient. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Thank you Mount Falcon

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisburgh, Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 for one day break.
Accommodation was of excellent quality (high standard with bit of antique style).
Hotel surroundings are gorgeous with plenty of space for walks and cycling in the gardens.
We ate in a bar, and food was really tasty, excellent service.

Great place to stay in general.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I know I'm biased-everyone loves their wedding venue but this is a place like no other.Think Downton Abbey in modern Ireland but with roaring turf fires,exquisite,comfortable bedrooms and the tastiest food ever.The staff are so welcoming in a genuine way,not just because it's their job and Aoife the wedding coordinator is such a lovely person and very easy to work with.The grounds are stunning-you can fish,clay pigeon shoot go for beautiful walks.We've been there lots at this stage,even just to stay for a weekend break and have loved it!!If you are looking for a place to get married or just to relax,then look no further-go,you'll not regret it!!!!

Room Tip: At the wedding the rooms in the older part of the hotel,which,by the way are the most luxurious can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballina
8.2 km away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
7.6 km away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
3.2 km away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Twin Trees Hotel
Twin Trees Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.9 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
39.0 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Property: Mount Falcon Estate
Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,973 - ₹ 17,416
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, Luxury lodges, fishing for wild Atlantic Salmon on its own stretch of the river Moy, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, a School of Falconry, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The Estate was originally owned by The Knox family whose ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to a Megalithic tomb located on the Estate. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest ever hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. In 2015 the Hotel was named the best Manor House Hotel in Ireland. The Hotels 'Kitchen Restaurant' holds 2 AA Rosettes and has received numerous awards for Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught, the most recent award received was in 2015 for Best Chef in Connaught(by the Good Eating Guide). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing