We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place was amazing! The food was tremendous, and the hospitality was out of this world! I have never met such a wonderful hostess! The view was great, and the cost was worth it! This place is immaculate, and it deserves all of the great reviews it has received. While here, we met the former Olympic swimming champion from the Atlanta Olympics and her family. Everything about his place and its town deserve a five star rating! est

Room Tip: The rooms that face the bay are the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
185
689
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Castlewood is one of the finest establishments we have stayed in. My wife and I have traveled all over Europe, the States, and Latin America, and, yet, we are had pressed to name even a single accommodation with which we were more pleased. Many other reviewers have amply covered the food, the rooms, and, of course, the exemplary level of service provided by Helen and Brian.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Castlewood thanks to the owners Helen and Brian. They were so friendly and informative about the Dingle area. The rooms were spacious, impeccable and relaxing. The jacuzzi tub was a perfect treat after all the walking and climbing at Blasket Island.

The breaksfast they serve daily was an amazing feast. Truley the best breakfast spread We ever experienced. Helen's porridge is a must with her special ingredient!

The walk downtown was the perfect distance from town. You can sit in the living room in front of the bay window looking at the mountains and bay. You really couldn't find a more perfect place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My new bride & I stayed with Helen & Brian on our short honeymoon for 2 nights in Mid July. We were welcomed by Helen & felt at home straight away. We were shown to our beautiful spotless room at the back of the house. It may not have a sea view but it didn't really matter. The guesthouse has elevators as well which is great for people who have difficulty with stairs. On hearing we had been married the day before Helen brought us 2 glasses of Champagne & arranged for us to dine in private in the front room in the morning which was a lovely touch. Breakfast is superb & the full Irish as well as Brian's favorite Omelet hit the spot. We loved it so much we asked to stay a second night & luckily there was a room at the front with a beautiful sea view. Brian chilled a bottle of champagne that we brought with us & showed us a great collection of DVDs that we could watch in our room while sipping our drink. Bliss. It may not be cheap but it's well worth it. We also bought 2 prints by Helen's mother who has fantastic art on show around the house. I love the blanket inside the door you can use if you want to head out in the cols to watch the sunset. Also a flask with hot water is provided along with tea & coffee if you want a cup on your way out. They've thought of everything. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stintdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Having read the reviews our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. The warm welcome, the friendly staff and excellent service made for a most comfortable stay. Everything was to a high standard and our room which overlooked Dingle Bay was first class. Which brings me to breakfast which was excellent with a wide choice of dishes wonderfully cooked. It was so good it kept us going for the day and we did not need to eat again until evening. We hope to return and will certainly recommend Castlewood House to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theprofDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.4 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.2 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.6 km away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.9 km away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.3 km away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing