We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castlewood House
Nearby Hotels
Milltown House(Dingle)
US$ 316
US$ 302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caitins(Cahersiveen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
1,148
35
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
35
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelen brianjacuzzi bathb bbread and butter puddingpancakesboutique hotelthought of everythingdingle baythe nicest placesmall hotelkippersshort walktea and coffeetwo nightsfantastic hostsjunior suitelittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Castlewood is one of the finest establishments we have stayed in. My wife and I have traveled all over Europe, the States, and Latin America, and, yet, we are had pressed to name even a single accommodation with which we were more pleased. Many other reviewers have amply covered the food, the rooms, and, of course, the exemplary level of service provided by Helen and Brian.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Castlewood thanks to the owners Helen and Brian. They were so friendly and informative about the Dingle area. The rooms were spacious, impeccable and relaxing. The jacuzzi tub was a perfect treat after all the walking and climbing at Blasket Island.

The breaksfast they serve daily was an amazing feast. Truley the best breakfast spread We ever experienced. Helen's porridge is a must with her special ingredient!

The walk downtown was the perfect distance from town. You can sit in the living room in front of the bay window looking at the mountains and bay. You really couldn't find a more perfect place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My new bride & I stayed with Helen & Brian on our short honeymoon for 2 nights in Mid July. We were welcomed by Helen & felt at home straight away. We were shown to our beautiful spotless room at the back of the house. It may not have a sea view but it didn't really matter. The guesthouse has elevators as well which is great for people who have difficulty with stairs. On hearing we had been married the day before Helen brought us 2 glasses of Champagne & arranged for us to dine in private in the front room in the morning which was a lovely touch. Breakfast is superb & the full Irish as well as Brian's favorite Omelet hit the spot. We loved it so much we asked to stay a second night & luckily there was a room at the front with a beautiful sea view. Brian chilled a bottle of champagne that we brought with us & showed us a great collection of DVDs that we could watch in our room while sipping our drink. Bliss. It may not be cheap but it's well worth it. We also bought 2 prints by Helen's mother who has fantastic art on show around the house. I love the blanket inside the door you can use if you want to head out in the cols to watch the sunset. Also a flask with hot water is provided along with tea & coffee if you want a cup on your way out. They've thought of everything. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stintdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Having read the reviews our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. The warm welcome, the friendly staff and excellent service made for a most comfortable stay. Everything was to a high standard and our room which overlooked Dingle Bay was first class. Which brings me to breakfast which was excellent with a wide choice of dishes wonderfully cooked. It was so good it kept us going for the day and we did not need to eat again until evening. We hope to return and will certainly recommend Castlewood House to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theprofDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We visited this hotel (it's actually is something between a hotel and a B&B) for 2 nights in late June. We had a room on the first floor, and our view was mostly of the front parking lot. The room had a great bathroom, with a superb shower (best water pressure in Ireland). The room and building in general were spotless.

The hotel is walking distance from Dingle town center, but it is a walk. If weather seems iffy, drive to the town center.

The breakfast was well appointed and the food tasty. Service at breakfast was excellent. The hotel owner was helpful, but seemed distracted.

In general, you can not go wrong by choosing this hotel; if you don't paying a bit of a premium.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the bay, you must request a 2nd floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews