We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience - could not have been better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience - could not have been better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

The Castlewood House is gorgeous, very well maintained, and in a great location. Helen and Brian gave us great tips (and reservations) for the best restaurants and pubs, gave us detailed maps and helped planned activities, and made the most amazing breakfasts each morning! I am so sad to leave and hope to return someday.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
183
683
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I read fantastic reviews of the Castlewood House on TripAdvisor and decided to try it out. We flew in to Dublin and immediately drove straight through to Dingle, making a few stops on the way. The airline lost my wife's luggage, and we had been up for 36 straight hours, including our flight, so needless to say we were exhausted by the time we reached the Castlewood House. We found this to be a little slice of paradise in Western Ireland. We relaxed in the wonderful and large bathtub, walked into town to have our first taste of authentic Irish stew, and then retired to a well-deserved sleep. We awoke the next morning to a breakfast spread that we still talk about to this day, 3 years later. Fresh fruit, several types of yogurt and granolas, black and white pudding (incredible!), and my wife had porridge with her choice of heavy cream, Bailey's Irish cream, or Jameson whiskey (she went with the Bailey's). It was absolutely fantastic, and Dingle is gorgeous. Any time we visit Ireland again, we will always make a point to visit Helen and Brian at the Castlewood House. We even bought some art painted by her mother. I can't recommend this place strongly enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddie7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Castlewood House is a great place! Stayed for 3 days. Helen & Brian were very nice & most helpful. Couldn't wait for breakfast each morning. Dingle is a short walk away. Rooms were spotless, which is always most important thing to me. Castlewood is an excellent value! Would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 753Debra54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Castlewood House for four days in early April 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was clean, comfortable and very well furnished. The staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful. Brian was a font of local knowledge and, as all other reviews have noted, produced absolutely excellent breakfasts. We loved Dingle and the local area, with so much to do and with such breathtaking scenery. To be able to return to Castlewood House at the end of each day was the icing on the cake.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have stayed at this B & B twice now and are looking forward to going back soon. Our first visit was April 2010 and we returned Jan 2011. This is more like a boutique hotel, the rooms are amazing, the service is exceptional and the breakfast is just brilliant! We can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slipofagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.4 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.2 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.6 km away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 km away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.3 km away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#9 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing