We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emlagh Country House
Ranked #15 of 74 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having recently stayed in Emlagh Country House, I was very disappointed. It looks nice in the picture but overall it is an uncomfortable place to stay, you feel like an intruder. At the end of the day at 220 per night for bed and breakfast it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BrigidF333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gkavanagh, Owner at Emlagh Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry that your stay with us did not measure up to your expectations and we apologise for any oversight that may have occured which left you feeling disappointed.

Sincerely,

Gráinne & Marion Kavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Emlagh Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt that we had found something extra special and the experience was amazing. Grainne and her mum Marion made us feel so welcome. Our stay with them was all too short and look forward to a longer return visit to this magnificent house.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank admarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Having stayed at some wonderful places all over the world in the past 30 years, Emlagh House ranks among the most memorable experiences we've had. The comfort of the house itself is exceeded only by the warmth and attention of Marian and her daughter. We spent four nights with two other couples and were constantly impressed by the wonderful breakfasts, the offers to shuttle us to town, and even cleaning our hiking boots before we left. No request seemed to be a problem. The bedrooms are lovely, the public areas comfortable, and views of Dingle Bay beautiful. Certainly, of all the B&Bs and country Inns we have ever stayed at, Emlagh House is by far the best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bob33355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Emlagh House is gorgeous - big airy rooms with high ceilings and bay windows and views over the Atlantic - colours of honeysuckle, apricots, golds and mandarin orange. Modern but beautifully maintained and with lovely antique furnishing. A warm, friendly service from mother and daughter team Marion and Grainne with great advice on local restaurants and entertainment. A great breakfast too with the freshest local produce and homemade breads and pancakes. Expensive but very well done.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorkyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

One of the best places I have stayed. We were given a very warm and thoughtful welcome and this thoughtfulness continued throughout our stay: a glass of milk for my two year-old daughter put out at breakfast, gentle offers of tea, coffee and cake in the drawing room whenever we came in (not a hint of Mrs Doyle) and very pleasant conversation with several good suggestions of how to make the most of the area in different weather conditions, not to mention the delicious breakfasts and plate of fresh fruit in our room every day. The building itself even seems to welcome and relax you - built only 11 years ago but with the style and beauty of a much older construction, without any stuffiness or overformality. Facilities were fantastic: the drawing room and reading room, as did the bedroom, had lovely views and were perfect places to read some of the hundreds of books nesting on the tables of the lodge. The honour bar in the drawing room was also very useful. The only downside is that the creators of the fantastic breakfasts can't be persuaded to turn their hand to dinner, but as Dingle has so many options for evening eating and drinking anyway this is no great tragedy. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Metroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.2 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.6 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
780 reviews
0.5 km away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
869 reviews
1.3 km away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.5 km away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 74 in Dingle
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlagh Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlagh Country House

Address: Emlagh, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: ₹ 11,638 - ₹ 17,845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emlagh House is a gracious country house located at the entrance to Dingle town overlooking Dingle Bay & harbour. The Kavanagh family, a local family, ensures that all guests enjoy their visit to the beautiful Dingle Peninsula & share their extensive local knowledge with each guest. Grainne & Marion Kavanagh look forward to sharing this wonderful area with you & welcoming you to their multi award winning home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emlagh Country House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing