We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage in Incredible Surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View from front
Dining Room
Kitchen
Instant hot shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hywel J
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Cottage in Incredible Surroundings”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I stayed in Brandon Mountain Cottage for 3 nights in March 2016 and had an amazing time. The cottage is located just outside the village of Cloghane, with coastal views over the bay to the front of the house and Brandon Mountain to the rear.

The cottage itself was clean, well sized with all the amenities you need to stay there. The bedrooms are well sized and have comfortable beds and, best of all, waking up with a view over the bay is a welcome change to the cityscape that I usually see! The living room has a brilliant wood-burner, several chairs, a TV and DVD player. The kitchen is well equipped with pots, pans, crockery and cutlery. There's also a dining room for larger parties to eat. You have to pay for the heating and electricity at the end of your stay, however, for two of us for 3 nights, this came to approximately 6 euros and we could have been more frugal in the use of the heating so it isn't really an issue. In the summer, I can imagine the large garden is very useful, particularly for families.

Linda and Eileen were lovely, providing really useful information and communication whilst we were booking the Cottage and then going out of their way to make us feel welcome whilst we were there. They provided some logs to burn on the stove, a bottle of wine and chocolates when we arrived and suggested we go to the pub one evening to meet villagers.

Cloghane has a couple of nice pubs, a shop with a bakery and, at about 1km from the Cottage, it can be walked (although we didn't walk because it was a bit wet and chilly).
It's about a 15 minute drive to Dingle, navigating over the Connor Pass (the highest mountain pass in Ireland) which has stunning views over the Dingle peninsula and Mount Brandon. Also, there are a number of walks from the top of the pass and a hidden lake about three-quarters of the way up.

Dingle has some great restaurants, cafes and shops and routes to other parts of the peninsula such as Ventry and Slea Head.

If you don't feel like driving, you can walk up Mount Brandon from the cottage or walk to Brandon Point, which again provides some staggering scenery. Everywhere you look on the peninsula, the views are postcard-perfect and the cottage provides a great base from which you can begin exploring.

I'd recommend the cottage to anyone with an interest in the outdoors, particularly watersports, walking and climbing. Having said that, there's so much to see and do all the way around the peninsula, I can't imagine anyone struggling for entertainment!

Thanks Linda and Eileen for making us feel very welcome and letting us stay in your fantastic cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of Wifi for planning activities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K
1 review
“Great family cottage, wonderful location”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for a week in September and were joined at various points in the week by family members. All had a wonderful time. The cottage is in a great location and perfectly catered for the needs of everyone - ages ranging from 1-61!

High points were the nearby beach, Murphy's at Brandon Point, and a music festival in Dingle. The local sausages weren't bad either!

Our hosts were excellent and sorted out cots and gates for the children in the party - thanks Linda.

Next time we'll get round to climbing Mt Brandon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Q
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to visit Dingle Penninsula”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights here. We felt totally at home and very comfortable. The view from the front yard was lovely and there are sheep in the backyard. The cottage was very clean and we enjoyed having bog fires in the fireplace. It was a nice location to pivot from to visit the Dingle peninsula. We would definitely return. Linda and her mother-in-law Eileen were ideal hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabbadal
Sn154jh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic.......Can't wait to come again!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

So very sad to leave this lovely cottage to go home after a wonderful 2 week stay. Myself, my husband and a good friend stayed here with our dogs and we were not disappointed at all.
The views from the cottage are stunning, ever changing both with the weather and the tides. There is the most fantastic beach only a 2 minute walk away. (We even saw seals).
The garden is large and fully enclosed (great for dogs). There is also off road parking next to the cottage.
The cottage itself was charming. It had everything we needed. Large bedrooms, all the facilities you need no matter what the weather. This owner has thought of everything, right down to a bar-b-que, a lovely welcome gift of honey and wine, the kitchen was well equipped, lots of info and guides on local areas and things to do. Heating was instant, (ideal when you come back from a very wet horse ride through the mountains!)
The cottage was also very clean, we were very pleased with everything. The owner was also extremely helpful and friendly.
Brandon point is only a 10 minute drive away (worth viewing), lots of walks in the area and the cottage is ideally located to explore the Dingle peninsular whilst still being in a lovely quiet rural area.
The local shop stocks pretty much everything you will need in a hurry (and has a super bakery).
We found the locals, very friendly and pleasant.

You will not be disappointed and if you have a dog, this is a great base and your dog will be super happy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the doggy friendly garden
Liked least: That we couldn't stay much, much longer!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
2 reviews
“Excellent Cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely cottage in a superb location on the outskirts of Cloghane and close to Brandon Point. The drive over the Connor Pass is a must, we walked into Cloghane and had a choice of pubs serving great food, the cottage is within a short walk of the beach, with plenty of rock pools for the kids to play in and a big sandy beach. The cottage has everything we needed with a large garden. On a clear night the sky is full of stars with little light pollution we saw a few shooting stars, I wish we could have stayed for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the cottage over the bay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing