We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful, clean and hospitable”
Review of The Hideout Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideout Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful, clean and hospitable”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This place was formerly a guesthouse. At €20 pp for a double room (including self-service breakfast) we felt we got good value for money and excellent night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisusernamewastaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
41
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The rooms here were nice with massive, comfy beds so good value on that front. Great power shower though decor a bit dated. Unfortunately when we arrived the owners didn't give us much info at all or even tell us about breakfast/ask for payment etc. this was a shame because we wandered round in the rain looking for the only place that was open to eat in in. December! Not your classic hostel experience but a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdoran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This place is feels like home to me. It is really comfortable, clean, safe and really friendly people. The sitting room is really much cozier than it looks. It is easy to find and central in Dingle. Micheal recommended the walk to light house which was great and I managed to see Fungi the dolphin. I stayed in a four person dorm but as it was quiet time, I had the whole room to myself and it was great. Overall fun and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyinawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Cage here during the off season, staff were helpful and the facilities were great. Three rooms were basic but clean. Overall good experience

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godzillalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herrin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Absolutely wonderful stay. Chuck was our warden and he was warm and friendly. Our room was clean, with mismatched linens making it feel homey. The sheets had the amazing wonderful softness that comes from being washed so many times. It felt like we stayed in Grandma's guest room! Chuck filled us in on GREAT tips for dinner, and gave us ideas on where to hit for the most entertaining music. We loved our stay and will be sure to return when we are back in Dingle!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grizwald_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.7 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.1 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
761 reviews
0.2 km away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
0.3 km away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
0.6 km away
Hillgrove Guesthouse
Hillgrove Guesthouse
#46 of 75 in Dingle
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideout Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel

Property: The Hideout Hostel
Address: Dykegate Street, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,310 - ₹ 5,134
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing