We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Smithys

Kitchen  with sliding door to court yard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen  with sliding door to court yard
Bedroom 1 with ensuite bathroom Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Kitchen  with sliding door to court yard
Bedroom 1 with ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 with ensuite
living room area
Kitchen area
House frontage
kitchen, dining area with view of patio area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AnnieMari...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a great time in the Kenmare area. Townhouse was in walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Kenmare and easy access to Kilarney and ROK. The townhouse was nice, clean and fit our family needs perfectly. Noreen was a wonderful hostess.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMac29494
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Market Street Location Perfect for Kenmare”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Smithy's was our second on Market Street in Kenmare. It's an in-town location that affords the convenience of short walks to the main streets (Henry & Main), the Square, as well as Kenmare's many excellent pubs & restaurants. While the supermarkets (Lidl, SuperValu, and (soon to come) Aldi all are a short drive (5 minutes) away, the in-town butchers (we like Roger O'Sullivan's, but you won't go wrong with the others) and markets (Daybreak, Hallisey's/Maureen's & JD O'Sullivan's) are nearby -- the prices are mostly reasonable & you don't have to bother with the car.

Noreen is a welcoming helpful host and has equipped the kitchen and bathrooms well. Beds are comfortable and the rooms have a good amount of space for storage. There is an electric fire in the living room and effective electric heating throughout. No wifi, yet, but I believe it is in the works. My only gripe was that I did not find the living room furniture all that comfortable -- it is fairly new and attractive, but the sofa/loveseat is a bit small & unsupportive. Thought about giving the place 4 stars, but everything else was so good that it wouldn't seem fair. The place is in excellent condition & there were lots of little touches that made us feel right at home.

Overall, this is a good value & we were very happy with our stay. Recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Living room sofa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopeTrave...
Hope, BC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh my, we love Kenmare!”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had such a wonderful time in the amazing little town of Kenmare! Actually, it's not all that little.....larger than we expected but still small enough to be super cute and quaint. The cottage was in a perfect location. Basically, right in the town but off the main street so it was very quiet. We could park our rental car literally right outside the door, so made it very easy when we did our driving trips to Ring of Beara, etc. I can't wait to go back......<3

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,location,location!
Liked least: Maybe wifi would have been nice.......
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rspence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location in a charming town”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Smithys just a few nights before our 4 day stay in Kenmare. Noreen met us when we arrived, showed us the ins and outs of the home, and then, when asked, gave us her recommendations for interesting sights nearby. She mentioned to us that the tide was coming in, and the pier nearby would be a great place to watch. We took lots of great sunset shots from that location. She was so warm and charming! Smithys is located on a quiet street, but just around the corner from shops, restaurants, markets, bakeries and pubs. I will definitely recommend Smithys to friends!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing